Posted by: glorifyhim1 | January 23, 2014

I Am and I Will

I Am and I Will

One of my favorite renditions of the hymn “Just As I Am” is by Travis Cottrell. The chorus goes something like the following:

“I come broken to be mended
I come wounded to be healed
I come desperate to be rescued
I come empty to be filled
I come guilty to be pardoned
By the blood of Christ the Lamb
And I’m welcomed with open arms
Praise God, just as I am”

Every time I hear this chorus or sing it at church, I’m reminded that I can come to my Heavenly Father in whatever shape that I am, with whatever need that I have, and that He will be there for me. When God called Moses to go to the people of Israel and bring the people out of Egypt, Moses asked God: “’Indeed, when I come to the children of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they say to me, ‘What is His name?’ what shall I say to them?’” (Exodus 3:13). “God answered Moses: ‘I Am Who I Am.’ And He said, ‘Thus you shall say to the children of Israel, I Am has sent me to you’” (Exodus 3:14).

I Am Who I Am – translated from the Hebrew – Ehyeh-Asher-Ehyeh. Ehyeh is the verb “to be.” Therefore, the I Am Who I Am can be translated as “I am, I will be, or I was being.” This name of God reflects His eternal nature. He was in the beginning, He is now, He will be in the future. “’I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End,’ says the Lord, ‘who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty’” (Revelation 1:8). Our Father, the great I Am, is with us right now and will be with us tomorrow, the next day, and the day after. I can come to Him as I am and I can expect Him to hear me – to mend, heal, rescue, fill, pardon, and welcome me – not because of who I am but because of who He is.

Yet how many times do I come to my Father, even sincerely talk to Him, yet fail to come expecting God to be “the I Am” in my life? I may come to him in my brokeness, but do I expect Him to mend me? I may call out to Him when I’m sick or wounded, but do I expect Him to make me well? I may fall before Him totally worn out, discouraged, and empty, yet do I look expectantly to Him to fill me to overflowing? And do I come to Him burdened with unforgiven sin, and truly believe that He will forgive me and make me clean? Do I expect God to make a difference in what I’m going through? Do I come expecting the great I Am to make a difference in who I am?

Expectancy is hinged on belief. The writer of Hebrews reminds us: “But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him” (Hebrews 11:6). Do I truly believe that God is ready, willing, and able to be all that I need Him to be for me? Do I believe that whatever I’m going through, He is there ready to act on my behalf?

There was time in Jesus’ ministry when He asked His disciples a question about who people thought He was.

When Jesus came into the region of Caesarea Philippi, He asked His disciples, saying, “Who do men say that I, the Son of Man, am?” So they said, “Some say John the Baptist, some Elijah, and others Jeremiah or one of the prophets.” He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?”  Simon Peter answered and said, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” Jesus answered and said to him, “Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jonah, for flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but My Father who is in heaven.”

(Matthew 16:13-17)

You and I must answer that same question. What do we believe about God and about His Son, Jesus? Do we believe that God is the great I Am? Do we believe that Jesus is the Son of the Living God through Whom God spoke to us (see Hebrews 1:1-4)? We may be believers who have trusted Jesus for salvation, but who are trying to live the Christian life in our own strength. We may be believers who are experiencing pain or suffering, or trials and troubles that we just can’t understand. Yet God Himself is ready to be the great I Am and to meet whatever need we may have. Consider just a few of the ways that Scripture reminds us that God is ready to be there for those who believe and trust in Him.

  • He will help us.

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you,
yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand”
(Isaiah 41:10).

  • He will guide us.

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;
I will guide you with My eye”
(Psalm 32:8).

  • He will restore us.

“Be glad then, you children of Zion, and rejoice in the Lord your God; for He has given you the former rain faithfully, and He will cause the rain to come down for you—
the former rain, and the latter rain in the first month. The threshing floors shall be full of wheat, and the vats shall overflow with new wine and oil. So I will restore to you the years that the swarming locust has eaten”
(Joel 2: 23-25a).

  • He will comfort us.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God” (2 Corinthians 1:3-4).

  • He will take care of all our needs.

“And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:19).

  • He will defend us.

“Beloved, do not avenge yourselves, but rather give place to wrath; for it is written, “Vengeance is Mine, I will repay,” says the Lord (Romans 12:9).

As King Asa was reminded by the seer Hanani: “For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show Himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal to Him” (2 Chronicles 16:9a). God wants to be strong for each of us, but do we believe? Are we willing to take all of our brokenness, all our wounds, and all of our emptiness and surrender them to God? Can we bring our deepest desires, our hurts and losses, and our biggest disappointments and relinquish them to God? Can we trust Him to be our I Am? Surely, He will!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

