Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 30, 2013

A New Chapter

A New Chapter

I have been sick this weekend…a bad cold and chills has literally put me to bed. I honestly cannot remember when a “simple” cold has affected me in such a way. But as I cough and sneeze, as I bury my pounding head in my pillow, I am more than ready to turn the page to a new chapter.

My daughter turned the page to a new chapter earlier this weekend as we helped her move to a new place to live. She will be entering 2014 living in a new state and working on a new job, a job that she is overjoyed to have. She is eagerly looking forward to this new chapter in her life.

Likewise, my son and daughter-in-law plan to begin a new chapter in their lives next month as they become first-time home owners and launch new careers.

New chapters come in all shapes and sizes. Some herald new beginnings and new opportunities. Others offer relief from pain or hard times. And, sometimes, a new chapter can introduce separation, suffering, or some other difficulty. I wonder what new chapters await me in 2014. What new chapters await you?

But through the years as I have faced different chapters in my life, I have learned that it’s not so much what happens in my life as the One I seek to lead me and walk with me as I journey. I have experienced both good and bad times when I was not seeking Christ nor living for Him. I have also experienced both good and bad times since I have put my hope and trust in Him. And what a difference Christ can make in the journey!

  • Christ makes us new.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new” (2 Corinthians 5:17).

When we repent and turn from our sins and accept Christ as our Savior, He makes us totally new. This “newness” is actually Christ living within us (see Galatians 2:20). While we may be physically living in this world, Christ is living in us spiritually. As we put our faith in Him and trust in Him, He gives us the power to resist sin and choose to live righteously.

  • Christ gives us the Holy Spirit to live in us.

But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you” (John 14:26).

We do not live the Christian life in our own strength. We have a helper, the Holy Spirit, who walks with us, guides and helps us. Among the many works of the Holy Spirit, the Bible affirms that the Spirit comforts us (Acts 9:31), gives us understanding (1 Corinthians 2:12-13), empowers us (Micah 3:8), gives us discernment (1 John 4:1-6), guides us (John 16:13), helps us (John 14:16-26); and gives us joy (Romans 14:17). Regardless of the road we are called to travel, the believer has the assurance that He is not travelling alone.

  • Christ gives us hope.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who according to His abundant mercy has begotten us again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance incorruptible and undefiled and that does not fade away, reserved in heaven for you, who are kept by the power of God through faith for salvation ready to be revealed in the last time” (Peter 1:3-5).

Sometimes, our steps on earth can be painful and heartbreaking, but we can face the future with hope because of what Christ has already done. But as it is written ‘Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him’” (1 Corinthians 2:9). This world is not our home. We’re on the way to our home in heaven and something that totally defies human explanation.

Whatever new chapters I may face in 2014, I know that I can trust Christ to be right there with me, His Spirit to lead me and guide me, and His very presence to surround me. With that assurance, what have I to fear? As I face all the new chapters in my life this year, I can be assured that Christ is with me and that He has me covered. If you want to have that assurance too, you can find out how to find it here – https://glorifyinghim.wordpress.com/how-can-i-be-saved/. It will be the best decision you have ever made!

Wishing you a blessed 2014!

The Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?

Psalm 27:1

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

