Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 25, 2013

The Blessing of Contentment

The Blessing of Contentment

“Now godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content.”

(1 Timothy 6:6-8)

This week in Sunday School kindergartners used tree trunk and leaf stickers to make trees of thanks. Before putting each leaf on their trees, we printed or help them print the name of someone or something for which they are thankful. One little girl, on her very first leaf, proudly announced: “I’m thankful for Me.” At first I smiled at her response, but then it occurred to me how profound her response really was. Am I thankful for me?

Surely, I am thankful for the way God made me. The Bible tells us that we are “fearfully and wonderfully made” (see Psalm 139:14). But more often than not, instead of thanking God for how He made us, don’t we wish we were more like someone else? If only I were prettier, smarter, or more talented…then I would be thankful for me. Not only are we not satisfied with ourselves, but neither are we content with where we are in life… if only I had more money… if only I lived in a bigger house … if only I could get that promotion … if only… if only … then, I would be content.

Contentment is not always easy. Yet contentment can be one our greatest blessings. Paul stated to the Philippians: “…for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need” (Philippians 4:11-12). And then he tells us how: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13).

The key to contentment is not who, what, or where we are in life. The key to contentment is the One for whom we live. When we live our lives, totally committed to Christ, seeking to be more and more like Him, while accepting His will in our lives, we are on the road to the godliness and contentment that Paul taught to Timothy – “Now godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content” (1 Timothy 6:6-8).

Contentment is not something that we obtain through constantly trying to be satisfied. Instead it comes through commitment and surrender of all we are, along with all of our hopes and dreams, to the One who made us and who loves us best of all. As we are content in Him, we find contentment with who, what, and where we are today … while knowing that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ (Philippians 1:6). He’s continually at work in us to make us more like His Son. – The Lord will guide you continually,
And satisfy your soul in drought, And strengthen your bones; You shall be like a watered garden, And like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.”
(Isaiah 58:11)

Perhaps the following acrostic can help remind each of us the contentment we can have in Christ. On this Thanksgiving, perhaps we can all join my kindergarten friend and exclaim: “Thank You, God, for me!”

C                     Commit all that I am to God (Proverbs 16:3)

O                     Obey His Word (Luke 11:28)

N                     Nourish the spiritual gift(s) within me (2 Timothy 1:6)

T                      Think on things that are true, noble, just, pure, lovely, and of good report (Philippians 4:8)

E                      Exalt and worship God (Psalm 99:5)

N                     Name my many blessings and praise God (Psalm 103:2-5)

T                      Trust God in all things (Proverbs 3:5-6)

M                     Mention the lovingkindness and goodness of God to others (Isaiah 63:7)

E                      Enjoy all the good things God gives us (1 Timothy 6:17)

N                     Number my days and how I can invest them for eternal purposes (Psalm 90:12)

T                      Thank God in all things ((1 Thessalonians 5:18)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

