Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 13, 2013

Where Is God?

Where Is God?

This is the season of the year when we hear a lot about giving thanks – for our families and homes, our friends and our food, for clothes that keep us warm, for freedoms we enjoy, and a host of other blessings that all too often we take for granted. Yet in our eagerness to count our many blessings, sometimes we fail to truly give thanks to the One who is the provider of those blessings.

Recently, I heard a remark that was repeated on the evening news regarding the typhoon that has wreaked havoc and devastation on the people of the Philippines. It went something like this: “God must have been looking the other way.” My heart hurt when I heard this careless remark. I felt like crying out, “I’m sorry, God!” Like Job, I felt like screaming: “Shall we indeed accept good from God, and shall we not accept adversity?” (See Job 2:10).

I remember similar remarks after the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center in New York. “Where was God?” was often flung out as people searched for answers. It seems that we have no problem accepting good things from God – even if we don’t acknowledge Him or give Him credit – but we’re always ready to blame Him when bad things happen. I remember the response one survivor made to that question, however – “I know where God was. He was right there with me in the stairwell!”

Bad things happen. They happen to good people, bad people, people who know Christ, and people who do not know Christ. Jesus, Himself, taught that our Heavenly Father “makes His sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust” (Matthew 5:45). We all, at one time or another, find ourselves in one kind of storm or another. What we do next, however, is a lot like what we do with our thanks. Just as we should pour out our thanksgiving to God for all His good gifts, we should also kneel before Him with our cries for help and our broken hearts.

I’ve found that I can’t do this until I know Him. You see, when I know something of God’s goodness and holiness, His mercy and His love, His righteousness and truth, His justness and longsuffering, and His forgiveness, grace, and faithfulness, then and only then can I surrender what I don’t know or understand, and seek Him with all my heart. When God allows bad things into my life, what I know about Him and His unchanging character helps me to trust Him when the way isn’t clear and when I don’t understand.

I cannot imagine all that our Filipino brothers and sisters are going through right now – or other individuals who are facing their own storms and trials. While I cannot explain why, I can pour out their needs and pray to our Heavenly Father for His help, mercy, and grace in the midst of their situations. I can seek to help other individuals in whatever way I can. And I can trust it all to God. Sometimes, long after we endure a storm, God may give us a glimpse of how He moved in the middle of the situation to accomplish something beautiful. At other times, we may never know this side of Heaven why the tragedy, loss, hurt, or pain. But I believe with all my heart that no matter what storm or trial we have to face, we never have to wonder, “Where is God?” Because He is right there with us in the middle of the storm, holding onto us as we hold onto Him. Thank You, God!

For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand,
Saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.’

(Isaiah 41:13)

The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell[a] in the house of the Lord
Forever.

(Psalm 23)

 

 

 

Responses

  1. How true, Kathy! I’ve been thinking of this a lot this week too… I guess the tragedy in the Phillipines instigated those thoughts for me as well in regards to people’s reactions to trials and tribulations. When examining each circumstance really closely, we can see that He was much closer than we all realize…that He’s there all along. I’m so glad that we are told in red letters that He will never leave us or forsake us! Thanks for your powerful reminders!

  2. Thanks, Emily. I’m glad, too, that we have a God who is always with us whatever we’re going through! Appreciate your comments!


Leave a Reply

Categories

