Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 5, 2013

Eyes That See

Eyes That See

As most of you who read my blog are aware, I recently welcomed my precious new grandson, Benji. (I promise that all of my blogs will not be about him!) He lives about two hours away and this coming week, I hope to get to see him again. On my last visit, I was overjoyed to get to hold him, hold him, and hold him some more. I honestly cannot believe that I forgot how sweet it is to hold a tiny newborn and smile and coo, and well, act like a baby!

For most of the time I don’t think that Benji was even aware that we were there. Well he may have for those few minutes when I just about got him stuck trying to remove his little shirt, but that’s another story. Most of the time, he just slept peacefully, awoke ready for a diaper change and to nurse, and then dozed back off again. But there were a few precious moments that Benji and I shared that my daughter captured on her camera.

IMG_4587IMG_4592IMG_4588

It seemed that Benji was looking right into my face, watching my eyes or my mouth or something “up there.” Occasionally, he would stretch out, move his little arms, and work his mouth as if he were actually trying to coo back at me. Now I know that while research is all over the place on infant vision, it is generally agreed that newborns have little visual acuity. They see movement, light, even color, but most agree that newborns are extremely nearsighted and generally have blurry vision. So whatever Benji saw or focused on, or perhaps what he was even hearing, created a special moment for this grandmother!

As I looked at the above photos and recalled the sweet expressions on my grandson’s little face, I couldn’t help but wonder what my Heavenly Father sees when He looks at me. Does He see excitement and joy just to be in His presence? Does He see a heart overflowing in thankfulness for His blessings and provision? Does He see wonder as I adore Him, surrender as I trust Him, and peace because I know Him? Does My Father see an adoring child who loves and wants to be just like her Abba?

To be honest, what my Heavenly Father sees on my face is a direct result of what I see when I look at God. What do I see when I look at Him? Do I see a loving father or a harsh taskmaster. Do I see a God who truly cares about me, or am I just one of the millions? Do I see a vindictive, judgmental ruler; or do I see a longsuffering, forgiving friend?

The Bible helps us know that even the disciples, those who walked with Jesus daily, sometimes had trouble really seeing. As Jesus talked to His disciples before He left them, “Philip said to Him, “’Lord, show us the Father, and it is sufficient for us’” (John 14:8). Jesus responded to Philip: “Have I been with you so long, and yet you have not known Me, Philip? He who has seen Me has seen the Father; so how can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on My own authority; but the Father who dwells in Me does the works. Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves” (John 14:9-11).

Jesus makes it pretty clear. If we want to see the Father, we need only look at Jesus. The gospel, eyewitness accounts of Jesus’ life on earth, can help us truly see the Father. But how many times do we read the familiar stories and fail to realize that this is our Father. We read about the many miracles yet dismiss His power in our lives today. We read about His compassion for the poor and weak, the sick and the hurting, yet turn away from Him rather than to Him when we’re going through our own battles. We see His patience with His closest disciples and friends when they seem to miss the important truths He tries to teach them, yet oftentimes we turn away in failure rather than seek His mercy and forgiveness. He tells us He loves us. He showed His love by going to the cross. He intercedes for us daily, even today, as He sits by the Father in Heaven. What more can He do in order for us to see?

Sometimes when I’m in the middle of a battle, I struggle because I can’t seem to see the Father that Jesus has shown me He is. But every time that I’ve entrusted what little scrap of faith I have and laid it before Him, I’ve discovered that just like my grandson, my vision may be a little blurry at first. But as I continue to turn to Him and seek His face, my vision will improve – sometimes immediately, but more often, over time as He works out all the details in His time and way. And even in the midst of my struggle, I can honestly say that I’d rather be looking up into my Father’s dear face, no matter how blurry it may be, and surrendering my fight to Him. I hope when my Father looks at me that’s what He’ll see – one who sees her Father with eyes that truly see!

Responses

  1. He looks really alert and animated!

    • It was almost time for him to eat – he slept most of the time. But I’m not complaining – it was so sweet to hold him. Can’t wait to see him this week! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

