Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 31, 2013

A Friend for Life

A Friend for Life

Earlier this week my husband and I had to travel out of state to attend a meeting regarding our insurance changes for the coming year. Like most everyone else in the country, we’re facing changes in health insurance choices and coverage. This fact, coupled with the fact that the company my husband retired from has since merged with a much larger company, necessitated our trip in order to help us better understand our options and choices. So….out comes my trusty old friend, Mr. GPS!

For all intents and purposes, I’m not sure if I could really call Mr. GPS my friend. We’ve used him on occasion, but for the most part, he sits on the dashboard and merely displays the roads we take. That’s because my husband always has his route clearly planned out and knows the roads he’s looking for and the exits he plans to take. So, when Mr. GPS has another route in mind, the incessant prodding to go another way makes my husband want to throw him out the window. So, instead, we place the device on the map function and let it just display the route we’re taking.

But, sometimes, like earlier this week, Mr. GPS can be a pretty good friend. Since our meeting would be ending right before dinnertime, we arranged to meet our daughter who worked about 30 minutes away, for dinner. She chose the restaurant and luckily (or so I thought), we could see the restaurant directly across the intersection from the hotel where we attended the meeting. However, to our surprise, when we crossed the several lanes of traffic at the intersection headed toward the restaurant, we realized that there was no entrance to the restaurant. In fact it was surrounded by a barricade and appeared to be in some kind of shopping development. To make matters worse, the road we thought would take us across the intersection into the restaurant was actually flipping us onto another freeway, by-pass type road. So here we went, but without a clue to where we were going. Turning around and going back the way we had come was not an option. That’s when Mr. GPS became our best friend.

I quickly pulled Mr. GPS down from the dash, fidgeted until I was able to search for restaurants near our location, found the right one, then hit “Go.” Even after the number of times we had ignored him, often even scarcely aware of his presence, Mr. GPS led us through the traffic and even helped us get corrected when we accidentally ended up in the wrong lane, and successfully delivered us to the right restaurant a totally different way. What a friend!

Is that not just like God in our lives? Just think about it for a minute. We plan our way and think we know just where we’re going, but life happens. We can get mixed up, messed up, and turned around in an instant. God is there all the time, but as long as things are going our way, we are content to just let Him watch from the sidelines. Sometimes, we may even get mad at Him when we feel that He is prodding us to take a different route or do something differently. Yet, our ever-merciful, loving God is always eager and ready to rescue us and help us when we turn to Him. The writer of Proverbs reminds us: “A man’s heart plans his way, But the Lord directs his steps” (Proverbs 16:9).

 

I know I’ve been guilty of trying to plan my own way, but it’s so much better when I commit my way to God and allow Him to direct my steps. The writer of Proverbs reminds us to “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding;  In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths” (Proverbs 3:5-6). And then again: “For the Lord gives wisdom; From His mouth come knowledge and understanding;  He stores up sound wisdom for the upright; He is a shield to those who walk uprightly;  He guards the paths of justice, And preserves the way of His saints.  Then you will understand righteousness and justice, Equity and every good path” (Proverbs 2:6-9). I want to be fully aware of God’s presence with me in all that I do, wherever I go. I want to seek His direction even when I think I know where I’m going, and I want to be ever mindful of His prodding and correction as I travel. You see, I may not always know the way my path may go, but when I commit my way to God, I know that He will direct my steps and safely deliver me to the destination He has prepared for me. It may be by a way I know and can see, or it may be a totally different route and one that I may not understand, but He will guide me and walk with me every step. Now that’s the kind of friend we all need – and the kind of friend He promises to be – for life!

“You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.

(John 15:14-15)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

