Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 21, 2013

Sometimes You Just Gotta Dance!

(I wrote the following blog when Benji was born four years ago. The picture on the right is Benji today – and he still makes me feel like dancing!)

Sometimes You Just Gotta Dance!

To begin with, I’m not and never have been a dancer. I’m the one who after being asked to my first college dance was pulled aside by my sweet girlfriends and patiently taught a simple four step maneuver that they assured me could be performed to any kind of music. I was a little dubious at first, but it worked. I survived the night on the dance floor although I’m still not sure if it could really be considered dancing!

Nevertheless, over the years, this non-dancer has sometimes felt the need to really dance – but not my simple little four step. At these times, I’ve wanted to jump and leap and soar for joy, my happiness just seeming too great to be contained. It reminds me of the story of King David when he brought the ark of the covenant to Jerusalem.

The ark of the covenant was a chest made of acacia wood and overlaid with gold. It was made according to specific instructions given to Moses by God Himself. The ark contained sacred items which included the stone tablets of the ten commandments. The ark of the covenant was a holy, sacred object that manifested God’s presence with His people. The ark had accompanied the Israelites in their wilderness wanderings, had been placed in the tabernacle, and was captured and recovered from the Philistines. Now, David wanted to bring it home to Jerusalem. His first attempt ended in disaster as he failed to follow the Lord’s specific instructions and one man died by the ark. It was three more months before David once again attempted to bring the ark home.

So David went and brought up the ark of God from the house of Obed-Edom to the City of David with gladness. 13 And so it was, when those bearing the ark of the Lord had gone six paces, that he sacrificed oxen and fatted sheep. 14 Then David danced before the Lord with all his might; and David was wearing a linen ephod. 15 So David and all the house of Israel brought up the ark of the Lord with shouting and with the sound of the trumpet. (2 Samuel 6:12b-15)

David’s dancing was a dance of joy, gladness, and worship, as all the people celebrated the return of the ark. It was a time for dancing and joyful praise.

This past week was one of those times for me. Last Thursday, our daughter-in-law gave birth to our second grandson, Benjamin. Little Benjamin and his parents have been prayed for by countless people over the past year. The joy we all feel over Benjamin’s birth is intricately connected to the deep sorrow we felt less than a year ago. In November of 2012 our first grandson and our son and daughter-in-law’s first child, Silas, was stillborn in Arica, Chile where his parents were working as missionaries. The following months were a journey through loss and grief, sorrow and struggle; coupled with a hesitant expectancy and a dare to hope again.

When I saw the joy on my son and daughter-in-law’s faces this past week; witnessed the outpouring of love and shared joy from family members, friends, supporters, and ministry partners; and when I held that precious bundle in my own arms; believe me, I wanted to dance! I wanted to leap and jump, twirl and whirl in thanksgiving and praise to my Lord.

The Psalmist stated: Weeping may endure for a night, But joy comes in the morning” (Psalm 30:5b). When I was in the middle of my weeping, I didn’t feel much like dancing. But as I wept before my Lord and poured out my heart to him, He brought me to a place of peace as I rested in Him. And in His time and way, He prepared me to receive this new joy that He was preparing for all of us. The Psalmist further exclaimed: You have turned for me my mourning into dancing; You have put off my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness, 12 To the end that my glory may sing praise to You and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give thanks to You forever” (Psalm 30:11-12).

I’m old enough to know that there will be more seasons of struggle, loss, and grief. There will be times when God seems silent as I pour out the agony in my heart. But I’ve also been through enough to know that my God, even when He seems silent, is faithful and that He will not abandon His children. So, I’ve learned to cling to Him in the hard times, rejoice with Him and praise Him in the good times, and to trust in His mercy and grace at all times. And I know as well that sometimes, you just gotta dance!

 

 

“To everything there is a season, A time for every purpose under heaven:

A time to weep, And a time to laugh;

A time to mourn, And a time to dance.”

(Ecclesiastes 3:1,4)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

