Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 8, 2013

Knowing God

 Knowing God

Can we truly know God? On the one hand, I fully realize that our human, finite minds cannot begin to encompass the totality of God. Yet to say I believe in someone whom I really don’t know doesn’t seem exactly right either. Moses called out to God: “Now therefore, I pray, if I have found grace in Your sight, show me now Your way, that I may know You and that I may find grace in Your sight. And consider that this nation is Your people” (Exodus 33:13). Moses seemed to think that if He knew God’s way that he could know God.

God’s answer to Moses, however, doesn’t attempt to explain His way or tell Moses what He is up to. Instead, God answered Moses: “And He said, ‘My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest” (Exodus 33:14). God tells Moses that He will be with him and give him rest. It is in God’s presence, as we walk with Him each day in every situation, that we gain knowledge of His ways. And it is in His presence that we come to truly know Him and find rest.

Coming to know our Heavenly Father can be a lot like knowing a loving earthly father.

Yesterday was my Daddy’s birthday. He would have been 90 years old if he were still with us. I loved my Daddy with all my heart and although he’s been gone for over 20 years, I still miss him. My Daddy worked hard and provided for his family. He laughed much and cared deeply. He was generous with his time and his possessions, always willing and ready to help anyone in need. Even as a child, I knew a lot about my Daddy’s ways. But it was being in his presence, day after day, that I really came to know my Daddy.

As I lived with Daddy daily I learned that I could depend on him to take care of me. I could trust him to be there for me when I was scared, nervous, sad, or sick. Sometimes I felt the sting of his discipline, but I also felt the tenderness of his love. Over time, I learned the whys behind some of his actions as I understood ways he wanted to protect me, things he wanted to teach me, and joys that he wanted me to experience. And in his protection and watchfulness, I was at rest because I never questioned his unfailing love.

I knew something about my Daddy as I watched him, listened to him, and witnessed the things He did. But it was through what I experienced with him that I truly came to know him. And that is so true with God as well. No matter how much I learn about Him, it is through His presence in my life and what I experience with Him that I truly come to know Him.

In much the same way, over the years I’ve experienced God in my life. He has been with me in the good times and the hard times. I’ve experienced His discipline and correction, but have also felt His mercy and cleansing. I’ve been humbled by His grace and the innumerable undeserved blessings that I so often take for granted. I’ve been received by Him when I’ve ranted and raved over things going on in my life that I didn’t understand, and I’ve felt His comfort and peace even during times of indecision, sorrow, or pain. I’ve come to know a holy, righteous, loving, forgiving, merciful, patient, gracious, compassionate, and caring God….and each day in His presence, I come to know Him better as He reveals more and more of Himself to me – through His Word, through others He places in my life, and through His own Spirit, His very Presence within me.

And as I’ve walked with God and learned from Him, I’ve discovered something more. The more I know Him and experience Him in my life, the more I turn to Him when things are tough. Some may wonder why. Why would I go to the very One who could have prevented something bad from happening, but didn’t? Why would I keep going to Him when He doesn’t tell me why or answer my questions? Because I know Him! I know that I can trust Him even when I don’t understand. Time and again He’s been there for me. He’s not granted my every request, but He’s walked through the trials with me. He’s proved Himself faithful and worthy of my trust. The more I know Him, the more I am able to surrender my situation and questions to Him and offer Him my faith, no matter how small it may be. God can take that grain of faith and help it grow as He continues to reveal more of Himself to me and helps me know Him more.

I know that I will never – at least this side of heaven – fully know God. “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts” (Isaiah 55:8-9). But to be perfectly honest, if I could fully fathom and understand everything about God, would He really be God? Jeremiah exclaims: “Ah, Lord God! Behold, You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and outstretched arm. There is nothing too hard for You” (Jeremiah 32:17). I’m glad that nothing is too hard for my God. I’m thankful that He has proven His love for me by sending His Son, Jesus, to save me and make a way for me to Him. And I’m more than honored to know that this great God whom I am not worthy to even touch the hem of His garment (see Matthew 9:20-22) is willing to take my miniscule faith and reveal even a small portion of Himself to me. That, my friend, is a God that I can confidently trust – and a God that I long to know more and more!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

