Posted by: glorifyhim1 | September 18, 2013

Walking by Faith

Walking by Faith

A trip to Lowe’s Home Improvement Store with my husband is always an adventure – especially, when he is preparing for a big project. His preparation begins a day or two before when he begins making his list. First, he gets all the needed measurements, makes any necessary calculations, and then makes a list of every item he needs. After finishing his list and confirming that his trusty assistant – that would be me – is able to go, he is ready to begin his shopping trip.

I have to admit that I am always ready, too. For although I know little about wood, hardware, nuts, and bolts, his excitement is contagious. We enter the store, greeted by the pungent smell of fresh lumber, and you can practically see his whole face light up. He eagerly touches each piece of lumber and painstakingly filters through a whole stack to find the just-right boards he needs for his project. I tag along behind him, carrying his list, and acting like I’m needed as I carry my work gloves (which are actually his, because I forgot mine). I’ll stand with the lumber cart and look knowingly (actually unknowingly) at each item that he “parks” me next to while he searches for other items he needs. And I’ll listen and nod my head with “understanding” at all the fascinating details he shares with me about the various items he sees.

You see, although I don’t understand a whole lot about such things, I truly enjoy sharing them with him. I mean I do until it is time to roll the cart out the door to the rear of our vehicle and unload all his just-purchased treasures. For some reason, my husband and I who always seem to understand each other perfectly and even complete one another’s sentences, just can’t seem to communicate when standing on either side of a lumber cart. Although my husband usually carefully explains how he intends for us to move an item from point A to point B, I always seem to end up on the wrong side or end, or helplessly confused. Our unloading escapades have resulted in both tears and laughter over the years – and even an occasional offer of assistance from store employees who I am convinced probably helped save our marriage! Still, I wouldn’t trade these times for anything.

As I thought about our most recent trip to Lowe’s just this week, it occurred to me that walking with my husband around Lowe’s reminded me in many ways of my daily walk with God. The apostle Paul taught the Corinthians: 7” For we walk by faith, not by sight” (2 Corinthians 5:7).  Consider just a few of the similarities.

  • Just as I have minimal understanding of the lumber, hardware, nuts and bolts that excite my husband so much, neither do I always understand what God is up to in my life. I don’t always know why certain things happen and other things don’t. In much the same way as I trust my husband to know what he needs for what he’s doing, I need to trust God to fashion all the pieces of my life for my good and His glory.
  • Just as I can get “parked” with the lumber cart in unfamiliar areas, sometimes God can also “park” me in an unfamiliar or uncomfortable territory. How I respond can say a lot about me and a lot about what I think of God. Do I surrender to His plan and trust Him to lead me and help me navigate the unchartered course, or do I complain, fight, and try to get back into familiar territory on my own? It is amazing what we can sometimes discover that God is showing us when we surrender to His plan.
  • Just as I listen to my husband share his knowledge of things I don’t know a lot about, I need to recognize my limited understanding of God and His ways. I must read my Bible, pray and seek His wisdom and understanding, and be sensitive to God’s Spirit guiding and directing me.
  • And when it’s time to put on my gloves and get down to work, do I tackle it my way or am I willing to follow God’s directions as outlined in Scripture and with my heart in tune to His heart? I can’t stand on the other side of the lumber cart and try to do things my way, the way I see them. Instead, I must move forward not by sight, but by faith.
  • Finally, just as others have been willing to jump in and help my husband and me out, those who walk by faith quickly learn that we’re not the only ones who find ourselves in our unlikely places or situations. Others have been there before us and others will follow us. Paul reminded the Corinthians that God can help us in our trials and that we can, in turn, help others. 3 “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God” (2 Corinthians 1:3-4).

I know life can be hard sometimes, but, little by little and day by day, I’m discovering the wonder and joy of walking by faith. When we fully surrender our wills to God; place our trust in Him; and seek to learn, grow, and follow Him; we come to truly know the One in whom we trust. Those who walk by faith do not blindly believe that things will work out, somehow, someway, somewhere, sometime. They believe that Someone, the God they know personally, is in control and because of Him, they can claim faith’s promises.

 

6”In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while, if need be, you have been grieved by various trials, that the genuineness of your faith, being much more precious than gold that perishes, though it is tested by fire, may be found to praise, honor, and glory at the revelation of Jesus Christ, whom having not seen[a] you love. Though now you do not see Him, yet believing, you rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory.”

(1 Peter 1:6-8)

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Sounds just me and Roger! I love to go with him on those trips even though I’m really no big help. Great insight!! I love your devotions!

    • I’m glad there are others who can identify! I can’t help but smile every time I think about some of our Lowe’s stories. Thanks for reading, Sheila. I’m glad you enjoy them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

