Posted by: glorifyhim1 | September 9, 2013

A Light in the Window

 

A Light in the Window

I can still remember how dark the nights seemed to be when I was a little girl. Then, there were no street lights in our neighborhood, so after the last rays of sunshine disappeared behind the mountains, it was dark. And on cloudy nights when the stars and moon were hidden it was really dark! I could truly grasp the meaning of what it meant to be “as black as the night.”

I can remember looking out the window at the blackness of the night. Everything so familiar to me suddenly began to take on eerie forms and shapes. Sometimes, when my Daddy had to work at night, I would stand with my Mama and stare out the kitchen window and watch as drove off in the darkness. We would watch until the last glimmer of the tail lights on his car disappeared in the distance and once again everything would be swallowed up in the darkness – except for one tiny light in a far-off window.

Off in the distance, actually on another street, was a house where a light seemed to always shine in the window. I liked that light. In fact, I loved that light. I can remember instinctively looking for that light when I went into the kitchen at night. For some reason, that light seemed to make me feel safe and bring me comfort. Other neighbors in dark houses may be asleep or away, but that light in the window assured me that we were not all alone in our little corner of the world.

I can also remember another time when I could practically “feel” the darkness. One of my favorite things to do when I get to go the coast is to take an evening walk on the beach after dinner. Normally, it is a time to see gorgeous sunsets and enjoy the peace and serenity of the quiet beach. On this particular night, however, we were running later than usual with dinner. By the time we made it to the beach, the sun had already set and the darkness was enveloping us like a cloak. Even the dimly-lit beach homes seemed to exude less light, but the lights of the heavens took over. The stars seemed to pop out one by one, lighting our way along the beach. Even in the surrounding darkness, the twinkling stars seemed to reassure me that we were not alone at the edge of the world.

The glimmer of light in the far-off window and the twinkling stars in the nighttime sky remind me of something Jesus taught His followers.

14 “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. 16 Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” (Matthew 5:14-16)

The lives of believers should shine – not because of anything inherently good in us – but, instead, because of the beauty and goodness of our Heavenly Father whom we should reflect in all that we do. When we allow His love and grace, His mercy and forgiveness, His faithfulness and righteousness to flow through us to others, we become light bearers. People don’t see us; they see Him. And, as a result, they are drawn to Him because of His light that we shine.

Paul taught the Philippians something about how to be light bearers or reflectors. He stated in Philippians 2:14-16:

14 Do all things without complaining and disputing, 15 that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, 16 holding fast the word of life, so that I may rejoice in the day of Christ that I have not run in vain or labored in vain.”

Being a bearer of God’s light can be a tremendous responsibility, but what an awesome privilege! Just as that little light in the window made me feel safe and not alone, the light that we reflect offers a hope that cannot be extinguished. And just as those bright stars guided us along that dark beach, we can be tiny little beacons that can help others along the way, assuring them that they are not alone – for He who is the true Light will never forsake us.

12 Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” (John 8:12)

 

Responses

  1. When I saw this, I was reminded about your walks on the beach in the dark:

    • Gayle, this was absolutely beautiful! Thanks for sharing the link!


Leave a Reply

Categories

