Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 31, 2013

You Don’t Even Know!

Normally, comments I hear from preschoolers make me smile as I enjoy their frankness and openness. But it amazes me how often God uses some of those comments to speak to me, to teach me or help me, to reveal something more of Himself. One such comment is the title of this blog post – “You don’t even know!”

The child who said those words had been playing her heart out all morning in our small homeliving area. She had “cooked” meals with playdough, changed the baby’s diaper and its clothes umpteen times, and “fed” everyone in the room. But now it was time for group time, and she didn’t want to stop playing. I explained that it was time to listen to our Bible story and that she could play later while waiting for her mother. Finally, she reluctantly agreed to come to group time, but she was not a happy camper.

She sat down, arms crossed across her chest, next to an empty chair on one side. Then she looked at me and said, “I’m not really happy now!”

“I understand,” I replied, “but you can play again later.”

“You don’t even know!” she retorted defiantly.

“What don’t I know,” I asked, not exactly sure where this was going.

“It’s him!” she said, pointing to the empty chair beside her. “It’s him, but you can’t see him because he’s imaginary!”

“Oh,” I shook my head. “Now I know.” Well, not really. But since we had never been introduced to this imaginary friend before, I kind of felt she was really upset with me, but it was easier for her to blame her unhappiness on her imaginary friend.

Thankfully, that settled the issue that morning and we had a good group time, but God wasn’t through with what had happened. That phrase kept reverberating in my mind: You don’t even know! And I thought, “No, I don’t always know.” Are you like me? Do you sometimes jump to conclusions, pass judgments, and form opinions without really knowing?  We may know that someone is angry, or hurting, or confused, but all of our conclusions (and possible remedies) are based on our own perspectives. Our conclusions, judgments, and opinions are tied to who we are, where we’ve been, and how life has treated us. We really don’t have a clue as to what’s really going on in someone else’s life. We don’t even know!

But, sometimes, I feel that God says the same thing to me: “You don’t even know!” For some reason, I want to figure God out. I want to understand the why behind things I don’t understand. I want to have a neat little packet of pat answers to offer everyone who questions why God does or doesn’t act? Yet the more I come to truly know Him, it seems the less I know about Him. He seemingly defies description. And the more I try to figure Him out and explain Him, the more I limit Him and make Him into the kind of God I think He is – rather than embracing the unexplainable God that He is.

I’m learning that knowing God is not a once-for-all, now I’ve arrived, kind of knowing. It’s a journey, a daily surrender of all I am to all I know of God. And as I surrender everything to Him, He helps me “see” myself just a little more clearly and to know Him (not about Him) a little better. I’m learning that this is what it means to walk by faith. First, I believe and then I walk, one step at a time, through both victories and trials. And with each step, however shaky or tenuous, I keep my eyes on Him – yes, even when I don’t understand.

You see, when God tells me, “You just don’t know,” He’s reminding me that He’s the One in control.  I may not know why I suffer, why trials and tribulations come, but God knows. “Remember the former things of old, for I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like Me, declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times things that are not yet done, saying, ‘My counsel shall stand, and I will do all My pleasure’” (Isaiah 46:9-10).  The renowned British preacher, Charles Haddon Spurgeon, stated the following:

 

There is no attribute more comforting to His children, than that of God’s sovereignty. Under the most adverse circumstances, in the most severe trials–they believe that sovereignty has ordained their afflictions, that sovereignty overrules them, and that sovereignty will sanctify them all. There is nothing for which the children of God ought more earnestly to contend, than the doctrine of their Master over all creation–the kingship of God over all the works of His own hands–the throne of God and His right to sit upon that throne.
Knowing God is in total and complete control of our lives, gives complete and utter peace to those who trust Him. To know that our lives are in His control removes the burden and worry of the future.

 

When trials and tribulations come, Scripture assures us that God is working it all out for our good (see Romans 8:28). How could we doubt Him when He loved us enough to send His own Son. “What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things?” (Romans 8:31-32).

Yes, my little friend was more correct than even she knew. There is so much that I really don’t know and understand – about my own trials, the tribulations of loved ones, the horrific and senseless acts we read in the news. There is so much that I really don’t know and understand about my God – His ways and His thoughts (see Isaiah 55:8-9). But what joy there is in His presence as He guides me day by day, and little by little, step by step, God teaches me what He wants me to know.

 

“I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently will find me.”

(Proverbs 8:17)

“And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.”

(Jeremiah 29:13).

Leave a Reply

Categories

