Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 21, 2013

Another Year on Facebook

Today is my birthday! I was reminded this morning when I logged onto Facebook and was greeted with happy birthday wishes which continued to stream throughout the day. Believe it or not, I look forward to seeing those messages and I scroll through and read each one. I read your names, your kind words, and remember how we’re connected. And I thank God for friends!

About four years ago, after much urging from my kids, I joined Facebook. I admit I had always been kind of curious about it, but I just didn’t get this whole social networking kind of thing. If you needed to talk to someone, you picked up the phone and called or you jumped in your car and showed up on their doorstep. If you wanted to share your pictures, you displayed them and invited friends over or you carried them with you everywhere you went – to work, to church, to family dinners…maybe even the grocery store just in case you ran into someone who hadn’t seen the latest snapshots. And if you had good news, bad news, or even no news to share, it generally spread pretty well by word of mouth. So why bother with Facebook?

Curiosity finally got the better of me, however, and I finally signed up. I entered the world of Facebook. While I will be the first to admit that it can never take the place of sitting down together face-to-face, or sharing a meal or conversation one-to-one, it has allowed me to re-connect with so many people whom I have known and interacted with over the years — school friends, church friends, work friends, friend’s friends, kid’s friends. And, today, on my birthday, I’d like to say thank you to all my Facebook friends.

  • Thanks for sharing your lives with me (your lives are usually a whole lot more exciting than mine!), for taking me to places I’ve never been and to some places which I’ll never be able to go.
  • Thanks for sharing your families with me. I love to see your kids and grandkids. I love to see YOU and what you look like now (some of you I haven’t seen since high school or college!), and how we really do improve with age!
  • Thanks for letting me laugh with you, celebrate your joys, and rejoice over your victories.

Thanks also for trusting me with your hurts and tears. Life can be both easy and hard. It’s a joy to laugh with you and a privilege to pray for you. And thanks for doing the same for me.

The Bible tells us in Proverbs 17:22: “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.”  A friend can be a lot like good medicine to cheer the heart. He or she can encourage, lift up, and renew us when we’re down and discouraged.  The Bible also tells us: “Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work; If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to pick him up” (Ecclesiastes 4:9-10). We’re better together!

I’m reminded that Jesus had friends. His disciples were probably His closest friends. The Bible helps us know that Jesus spent time with His friends. He traveled with His friends and celebrated with them. He cared for them and prayed for them. He sought their presence during some of the darkest moments in His life (see John 13:21; Matthew 26:36). Jesus modeled what being a true friend looked like.

I’m thankful for all my friends, whether down the street or on Facebook. And I’m honored when you call me friend. More than anything, I want to be a friend like Jesus. Jesus taught: “This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. You are My friends if you do whatever I command you.” (John 15:12-14). What a privilege to not only be a friend to others, but to be a friend to Jesus as well!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

