Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 2, 2013

Above the Storm

Oh, it is so easy to become discouraged! Life can deal some pretty rough blows to all of us, some of which can be tremendous and life-shattering, and others that just grind away at us day after day after day. Usually during such times, it is all that we can do to just hang on. We don’t think much about being victorious over our circumstances. We’re mainly just hoping that we can survive.

Through the years, I, like most of you, have weathered different kinds of storms. At such times, I’ve clung to Scriptures such as Psalm 107:29: “He calms the storm, so that its waves are still,” and Matthew 28:20b: “And lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” I’ve reminded myself of how God delivered Joseph from the pit, Daniel from the lion’s den, and Lazarus from the tomb.

But as I’ve hung on to these truths in God’s Word, I’ve also struggled over those who believed, who trusted, and who were not delivered. What about Stephen who was martyred for his faith (Acts 7), the apostle James who was killed by Herod (Acts 12), and countless others through the pages of history that have suffered persecution and death, and were not delivered, while standing strong for Christ?

While God has helped me to understand that He is sovereign and in control of all my circumstances, and while He has reminded me that He is there with me in the midst of my difficulty even in my darkest days, it can still be difficult getting through the storm. But this week God taught me something new about getting through a storm. His message to me came through the chorus of a song that was sung in church this past Sunday. The title of the song is  “Still” and the words that got my attention went something like this: “I will soar with You above the storm. You are King over the flood. I will be still and know that You are God.”

“Above the storm?” “Soar?” I don’t know about you, but when I’m in the middle of my hard times, I’m feeling the impact of the wind and the rain. I am smack dab in the middle of the storm, certainly not above it! And soar? Even when my faith tells me that I’m going to get through the storm, my pitiful walk certainly wouldn’t look like soaring. I stumble, I hunker down, I give it all I’ve got, and sometimes I just collapse until the storm dies down.

Yet as I thought about these words and turned to the Scriptures, I realized that God indeed can help us soar above the storm. Consider the following:

  • We can soar above the storm because we are not alone.

God doesn’t allow a storm into our lives and then forsake us. His presence is always with us.

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend into heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the morning,
And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
10 Even there Your hand shall lead me,
And Your right hand shall hold me.

(Psalm 139:7-10)

  • We can soar above the storm because of the grace and strength that He gives us.

One key to soaring is recognizing that we are not the source of our strength. We may be pitiful and weak, but our God is strong and all-powerful.

God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.

(Psalm 46:1)

Wait on the Lord;
Be of good courage,
And He shall strengthen your heart;
Wait, I say, on the Lord!

(Psalm 27:14)

Ah, Lord God! Behold, You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and outstretched arm. There is nothing too hard for You.

(Jeremiah 32:17)

  • We can soar above the storm because of the hope we have in Christ.

Our storms have a way of blinding us and consuming us completely, but our faith can help us see beyond the temporal to the eternal.

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.

(Romans 8:18)

  • We can soar above the storm because God Is!

Because God is, I know that I can surrender everything to Him – that includes all my questions, my lack of understanding, and my suffering. He tells us to bring all our burdens to Him – “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Matthew 11:28-29). From experience, I know that He’s done that for me. But I also know that He’ll need to do it for me again tomorrow and the next day. His faithfulness to see me through in the past, however, assures me that He’ll be there the next time when my strength is small and my faith is weak.

So, no I cannot soar above the storm, but as the song says, I can soar with Him above the storm!  He offers His presence, His grace and His strength, and He asks me to just believe. When I respond to Him in faith, placing my hope and trust in Him, He will not only get me through the storm, but just maybe He will give me the ride of my life as He allows me to soar with Him above the storm.

“But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength;

They shall mount up with wings like eagles,

They shall run and not be weary,

They shall walk and not faint.”

(Isaiah 40:31)

Responses

  1. Oh Kathy, what a needed devotion. I am so glad the music of the service touched you and found it’s way into a beautifully written devotion. When I plan services I pray someone will be reached or blessed. This song was played by the instruments during the Passion Play and Ann felt like the choir should sing it. I am sure glad we did. God bless your ministry.
    Dan & Amy

  2. Dan and Amy, thanks so much for your encouragement. I am so glad you decided to include this song Sunday. It is now one of my new favorites. I’ve been listening to it all week! God bless you both!


Leave a Reply

Categories

