Posted by: glorifyhim1 | May 12, 2013

Happy Thanksgiving….oops! Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Thanksgiving …. Oops! Happy Mother’s Day!

I just cannot celebrate Mother’s Day without my heart overflowing with thanksgiving. I’m so thankful that God gives us mothers. I’m so thankful for my own precious mother who now celebrates in Heaven. I’m so thankful for the privilege of being a mother and for the four kids (yes …four…our firstborn celebrates with my mother, her Mimi) that He so graciously entrusted to my husband and me. I’m also thankful for the countless other women (some mothers themselves and others not, some younger, some older) who have helped “mother” me through different stages and situations in my life. And most of all, I’m thankful for the God who allows us to serve Him through others as we mother.

As I rejoice over the blessing of mothers, my thoughts naturally turn to my own precious mother, the one who birthed me, who loved me (even when I messed up), who believed in me, who taught me right from wrong, who watched for me and cared for me, and who taught me by example how to live.

In some ways, I can see my Mama in me. For sure, I can think of five ways that I know I’m like my Mama.

Five Ways I’m Like Mama

1. My family means more to me than anything else on earth.

2. I love to cook, but I have to clean.

3. Food fixes everything.

4. There’s nearly always a reason to celebrate (even the simple things).

5. Planning and preparing is a joy in itself.

There are other ways that I truly wish I were more like Mama. These are the things that

sometimes bring tears to my eyes as I remember Mama.

Five Ways I Wish I Were More Like Mama

1. Mama served her family and others from her heart….not what she ought to do, but what she genuinely wanted to do.

2. Mama sacrificed quietly….at the time I didn’t see it because I didn’t know that she would probably have liked a new dress or shoes, or perhaps she didn’t always prefer chicken necks and backs to breasts and thighs.

3. Mama found joy in everyday simple things…. Picnics, car drives, visiting relatives and friends

4. Mama knew how to be content.

5. Mama persevered when times were hard, when there was difficulty or trouble, when the future was uncertain. She carried on, hung on, and kept on keeping on.

As I was writing this I asked my two daughters what they remembered about Mama. Immediately, they both smiled. The memories that tumbled out made us laugh and threatened tears, but in the process I was reminded that mothers forever mother. It is a calling that we never outgrow and the concern for the children we mother and care for never wanes.

So, this Mother’s Day, once again I thank God for Mama, for the privilege of being a mother, and for the many other women who, in one capacity or another, help mother His children. I honestly do not think there could be a greater privilege on earth! Happy Mother’s Day!

Through wisdom a house is built,
And by understanding it is established;
By knowledge the rooms are filled
With all precious and pleasant riches.
(Proverbs 24:3-4)

Leave a Reply

Categories

