Posted by: glorifyhim1 | May 6, 2013

Storms in the Night

After a weekend of rain and a Sunday with continued rain and torrential downpours, I huddled in my favorite chair with my laptop, a current writing assignment, and my favorite word game, Every Word. It was nearing midnight which is not unusual for me to greet the early hours of the new day. I had long since abandoned my writing and thinking and was mindlessly playing my word game when the house went completely dark as the power went out. I admit as I had listened to the heavy rain and had experienced intermittent breaks in the electric power, I had kind of figured that this might happen. I sat for a moment in the quiet and complete darkness.

I heard the usually quiet little creek next to our house roaring loudly and I could only imagine in the darkness how badly it might be overflowing its banks. The sound of the continuous rain pelting the roof did little to convince me otherwise. I was interrupted from my thoughts by my sweet old grand-dog, Snickers, a husky-retriever mix, who had been curled up by my legs on the ottoman. I could feel her restless movements and could tell that she was confused by the sudden darkness. I patted her side and reassured her all was okay and that it was time to go to bed. Seeming to understand, she got down and I could hear the familiar click-clack of her paws as she headed to the bedroom.

Meanwhile I felt my way into the bedroom to retrieve a flashlight so that I could see to shut things down and put things away. It wasn’t long, however, before I heard the click-clack of Snickers’ paws again as she came to find me. She stayed close on my heels as if needing to be assured that things were okay. When I finally made it back to the bedroom and slid into bed beside my sleeping husband, I realized that Snickers had followed me to my side of the bed. Instead of stopping at her dog bed, she had continued on my heels and, in the darkness, I could feel her front paws on the side of the bed waiting for my okay for her to jump up. I patted the side of the bed, signaling it was okay, and felt her lurch her frame onto the narrow spot on the side of the bed.

Now, Snickers is not a small dog. She is normally content to sleep on the floor where she has plenty of room. On those occasions when she does join us, she usually waits to be petted, and will then gravitate toward the foot of the bed. But not last night! Instead she lay down right next to me, resting her head against my arm. I heard a contented sigh as she dozed off. I lay there for a while in the darkness before going to sleep myself and I thought about God.

You see, Snickers is a big dog. She’s a sweet dog and well behaved (which we owe to her parents). But she is also a dog who scares easily. When we Skype with my son and daughter-in-law, she runs and hides – there is something that unnerves her about the voices in the computer. She is afraid of storms and can get spooked by something as simple as a new cap my husband wears or a sound with which she is unfamiliar. I knew that Snickers had been unnerved by the sudden darkness, not to mention the roaring water and pelting rain. Yet she found solace, safety, and peace by coming to me and staying close by me.

Thinking about Snickers made me think about me and God. What do I do when I’m scared? What do I do when I’m worried about something I don’t understand? What do I do when I don’t know what to do? God’s Word is abundantly clear.

“Hear my cry, O God;

Attend to my prayer.

From the end of the earth I will cry to You,

When my heart is overwhelmed;

Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

For You have been a shelter for me,

A strong tower from the enemy.

I will abide in Your tabernacle forever;

I will trust in the shelter of Your wings.”

(Psalm 61:1-4)

 

God has more than proved Himself faithful in my life. He has shown me time and time again that He is a God that can be trusted. Instead of succumbing to fear about things that are going on in the world, instead of fretting over things I don’t understand or worrying about things which I cannot fix or control, I need to run straight to that Rock. Like the psalmist, as I cry to Him (come before Him in complete honesty)….abide in Him (seek Him and His way, read His Word, obey Him)…. and trust in Him (surrender everything…my fears, my doubts, my worries, what I just can’t understand), He will shelter me (provide a harbor for me in my storm, give me refuge, be my sanctuary).

Just as Snickers sought me in her fear, I need to seek my Master and listen to His voice. I need to stay close on His heels for direction and guidance. And just as Snickers found safety and contentment curled up next to me, I, too, even in the middle of the darkness or the storm can find peace and refuge in the shelter of His wings.

Responses

  1. I appreciate your reference to Spurgeon in your Welcome, as well as the Westmin Confessions. I took classes at Westminster Seminary in PA, btw, and was steeped in Reformed theology. John Piper goes to lengths to say we best glorify Him by enjoying him. I think, in light of Grace, he is right.

    As to storms in the night…I hope this blesses you:

    https://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/faith-and-suffering/


Leave a Reply

Categories

