Posted by: glorifyhim1 | April 15, 2013

Home

There’s nothing quite like a trip to the beach. For about as long as I can remember, going on vacation meant going to the beach. And once that tradition started, it didn’t matter where we went or how far we traveled, we hadn’t had a vacation unless we’d been to the beach!

One of my favorite things to do when we go to the beach is watching the evening sunsets and no less glorious, seeing the morning sunrises – but unfortunately, I usually don’t awaken in time for those! But there’s just something about watching the fiery display of colors every evening as daylight gently fades. The ever-changing and deepening hues of color, their reflections dancing on the water, and the soft sounds of the waves gently lapping on the shore all evoke in me such a sense of wonder. What a beautiful world our God created!

Another one of my favorite things is watching the tiny little sanderlings and sandpipers as they run along the tide line and chase after the receding waves, probing in the wet sand for food. They seem to be always busy, skimming across the wet sand on their tiny, tiny legs. But occasionally, they seem content to pause and watch the surf and even study the two-legged creatures invading their feeding ground. As I watch them scurry and work, however, I again am overcome with how perfectly God designed every part of His creation. From the sanderlings on the beach to the wild animals in the forest, God made every creature with an innate ability to know how to live. What a wonderful world our God created!

As much as I love the beach, however, and no matter how many times I return home wondering when I’ll be able to go back again, there’s just nothing quite like coming back home. Depending on where we vacation, I know by heart the exact place on the return trip home where I will catch that first glimpse of the mountains in the distance. It is a view that never ceases to take my breath away. As I see those mountains getting closer and closer, and when we finally climb up into their depths and are encircled in the layered ranges, once again I am reminded of our good and faithful God. This God is not only the Creator of a world of beauty and order who cares for all He made, but He is also a God who encircles us in His love. He surrounds us with His power and majesty, strengthens and helps us. What an awesome God is our Creator and Sustainer!

As I returned home and unpacked my bags, I admit that it felt good to be back home. At the same time, however, I really missed that walk on the beach on my first night back home. I couldn’t help but smile as to how fickle I must seem to God. But then I remembered what Paul told the Philippians about being content.

Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content:I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

(Philippians 4:11-13)

While Paul was largely speaking in regard to material need, I think the same applies to the desires of our hearts as well. You see, our hearts are only really at home in Christ. No matter where I go or what I do, my sufficiency, my completeness is not because of where I am, who I am with, or even what I’m doing. I can only know true contentment and peace when my heart is at rest in Him.

I am reminded of Psalm 91 about abiding in God’s presence.

“He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
2 I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress;
My God, in Him I will trust.”

3 Surely He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler[a]
And from the perilous pestilence.
4 He shall cover you with His feathers,
And under His wings you shall take refuge;
His truth shall be your shield and buckler.
5 You shall not be afraid of the terror by night,
Nor of the arrow that flies by day,
6 Nor of the pestilence that walks in darkness,
Nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday.

7 A thousand may fall at your side,
And ten thousand at your right hand;
But it shall not come near you.
8 Only with your eyes shall you look,
And see the reward of the wicked.

9 Because you have made the Lord, who is my refuge,
Even the Most High, your dwelling place,
10 No evil shall befall you,
Nor shall any plague come near your dwelling;
11 For He shall give His angels charge over you,
To keep you in all your ways.
12 In their hands they shall bear you up,
Lest you dash your foot against a stone.
13 You shall tread upon the lion and the cobra,
The young lion and the serpent you shall trample underfoot.

14 “Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him;
I will set him on high, because he has known My name.
15 He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble;
I will deliver him and honor him.
16 With long life I will satisfy him,
And show him My salvation.”

As much as I love being home, and as much as I enjoy visiting other’s homes and places that seem just like home, I can honestly say that I’m not truly at home unless I am dwelling “in the secret place of the Most High.”  For it is only there that my heart is truly home.

Leave a Reply

Categories

