Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 24, 2012

A Savior Born for Me

“But the angel said to them, ‘Don’t be afraid, for look, I proclaim to you good news of great joy that will be for all people: Today a Savior, who is Messiah the Lord, was born for you in the city of David.”

(Luke 2:10-11)

 

The above angelic message, delivered to the shepherds over two thousand years ago, sums up clearly and simply what Christmas means to me. Amid all the things I love at Christmas time – the decorating, trimming the tree, the cooking and baking, buying and wrapping gifts, the music and special church services, and spending extra time with family and loved ones – this is the ultimate reason why each of these things I love bring me such abiding joy. It is all because of Jesus – the Savior born for me! Apart from this truth, all the special activities I enjoy this time of year would just be empty ritual. Without Jesus, there would be no Christmas.

God sent Jesus into the world to save us. “For God did not send His Son into the world that He might condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through Him” (John 3:17). But notice that the angel announced: “Today a Savior…. was born for you.” While He comes for all of us, He saves us personally. It overwhelms me to think of the profound significance of this simple statement. My Savior came for me. He left the glory of heaven to be born in an obscure place, to know the sting of rejection, and to suffer and die for me.

Because of Jesus I am saved from ….

….sin

……death

……..the wrath of God

Because of Jesus I am given ….

….mercy and grace

……eternal life

……..the very righteousness of Christ Himself

And this Christmas season, I am aware yet again of something else about this Savior born for me. Not only was He born to deliver me from my fallen state and make me into a new creation in  Him, but He was also born to walk with me through whatever situation He allows to enter my life today. He doesn’t save me, leave me, and wait for me to join Him in heaven. He doesn’t just flood me with promises about the future to encourage me to keep on keeping on. Instead, through His Spirit, He stays right here with me. He walks with me, talks with me (as He gives me understanding of the Scriptures), and is always ready to listen to me when I’m happy, when I’m hurt, when I’m angry, when I’m tired or discouraged — when I need a Savior today. Christ was my Savior all those years ago when I asked Him into my life. He is my Savior as He walks with me through both the good and hard times in my life. And He will be my Savior when He ushers me safely into His presence.

My Savior was born to be your Savior, too. What better time than Christmas to accept the gift of God’s Son? A beautiful Christmas present, left unwrapped, cannot bring joy to the recipient. In the same way, Jesus cannot be your Savior until you accept Him into your heart and life. If you do not know Jesus as your Savior, I encourage you to take that step today and know the true joy of Christmas. Jesus was born to be your Savior – today, tomorrow, and for all eternity!

“Yet I am the Lord your God ever since the land of Egypt.

And you shall know no God but Me; for there is no savior besides Me.”

(Hosea 13:4)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

