Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 11, 2012

My Christmas Wish

My Christmas Wish

As Christmas rolls around each year I cannot help but remember when my kids were small. I can still see them stretched out on the family room floor, sometimes all three of them at the same time, poring eagerly over the Sears Roebuck Wish Book as they made their wish lists for Christmas. To be sure, their lists always required fine-tuning and they nearly always had to narrow those lists down, but they always had fun wishing.

I, too, have done my fair share of wishing. I’ve wished for bigger, better things. I’ve wished for fresh new opportunities and chances. I’ve had wishes for relationships and for things of the heart. But just like my kids and their Christmas lists, I’ve discovered that my wishes, too, have required fine-tuning and sometimes I’ve had to let go of them altogether. That’s the way of wishes – they don’t always come true.

Yet, in spite of the fact that our wishes are not always attainable, there’s just something in me that can’t stop wishing – or perhaps dreaming – or maybe hoping that some things are just not going to stay the same. You see, over the years, my wish list has changed a whole lot. Instead of money and things (as nice as that may be), or even relationships and things of the heart that I desire with all my heart, my wish list is all wrapped up in the baby in the manger, the Christ of Christmas, the hope for the world.

Jesus came into the world on that very first Christmas to give us life – not that pseudo-life that we clamor and compete for and step on and over one another to try to attain – but real, honest-to-goodness life. “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly” (John 10:10b). What does this abundant life look like? Sometimes, it may not look abundant at all. Consider what Jesus said about this life.

  • We will have problems, but His peace.

 

“These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation, but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world” (John 16:33).

 

  • We have work to do and we will face opposition.

 

“The harvest truly is great, but the laborers are few; therefore, pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest. Go your way; behold, I send you out as lambs among wolves” (Luke 10:2-3).

 

  • We have a Helper.

 

“And I will pray the Father and He will give you another Helper that He may abide with you forever – the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him; but you know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you. I will not leave you orphans, I will come to you” (John 14:16-18).

 

  • We are not alone.

 

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age” (Matthew 28:19-20).

 

  • We have hope.

 

“Let not your heart be troubled, you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions, if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also” (John 14:1-3).

 

As I think about this life that I have in Christ, it makes me look a little differently at those things I wish for. I have burdens; I have worries; I have heartaches; I have problems. But in spite of my difficulties, I have peace. In spite of how often I mess up and fail, He still gives me work to do. And through it all, I have His presence, His peace, and hope in Him – an abundant life, indeed! Because of Christ, I can keep on wishing and praying that all people everywhere might come to truly know the blessed Christ of Christmas and discover true life in Him. This is my Christmas wish and hope for the world – and it doesn’t cost me a cent, but it cost Christ, His very life!

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

(John 3:16)

Leave a Reply

Categories

