Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 26, 2012

A Friend Closer Than A Brother

 

I never knew what it was like to have a brother until I married my husband and thereby inherited not one, not two, not even three – but five brothers and one dear sister! Through the years as I’ve gotten to know my brothers and watched their interactions with one another, I’ve learned a little bit about what it means have a brother – at least in our family.

  • Brothers are tough! Even when they may not feel necessarily tough, they will hide behind that thick skin and appear totally undaunted.
  • Brothers are competitive. It may just be who caught the biggest fish, but there is a friendly sense of competition among them.
  • Brothers are fun. When I think of any of my brothers, I think of them with smiles on their faces. Whenever they are all together, you constantly hear chuckling and laughter among them (possibly over their fish tales).
  • Brothers hold no grudges. Even when there is disagreement, they find a way to go on and still maintain that brother bond.
  • Brothers stick up for one another. They are always ready to come to the defense of another brother or family member.
  • Brothers are protective. They care for their families, their sister, and for one another.
  • Brothers are there when you need them – always ready to help one another through a difficult time.

As I thought about my brothers and how closely they stick together, I found myself wondering about Proverbs 18:24: “A man who has friends must himself be friendly; but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” What kind of friend could stick closer than my brothers? And while I didn’t have brothers growing up, I do have a sister who means the world to me. We’ve been through a lot together and I know without a doubt that whenever I need her she will be there. We stick pretty close, too. What kind of friend could stick closer than that?

Regular readers of this blog know that we just buried my grandson last week. All of my brothers and their sister were there, except for one who was out of town. My own sister was there hard at work and taking care of all the details. Other family members and friends were there who hurt because we hurt. But there was one more friend there as well. While we couldn’t see Him physically, we did see Him in my brothers, my sisters, and my friends as they allowed His love to flow through them. We saw Him in every phone call, every visit and card, and we felt Him in every prayer that was lifted up for us. This is the friend that sticks closer than a brother. Jesus announced: “You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you” (John 15:14-15).

Our Heavenly Father reaches out to love us, hug us, and help us as He moves others to do these things in His name. But He is also right there with us in very personal ways. God the Father showers us with His grace and mercy, offers us total access to cry out to Him, and allows us to cast every care upon Him. Jesus purchased our access to the Father through His shed blood upon the cross. Before He died for us, He prayed to the Father for us (see John17:20-26). His prayer affirms His love for us and pleads that we, in turn, might show His love to others. But not only do we have access to the Father and the knowledge of His love, we also have the Holy Spirit who indwells us (Romans 8:11), guides us (John 16:13), empowers us (Micah 3:8), helps us (John 14:16-26), bears fruit in us (Galatians 5:22-23), gives us gifts (1 Corinthians 12:3-11), comforts us (Acts 9:31), and reveals the things of God to us (1 Corinthians 2:10,13). Whatever situation we’re going through, we can know that the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit are right there with us. In fact, when we feel that we don’t even know how or what to pray, the Spirit is making intercession for us (see Romans 8:26-27).

I feel very blessed to have brothers and sisters who love me and stick by me. Likewise, I am immeasurably encouraged by others who allow God’s love to flow through them to minister to me. But, oh what peace I have in knowing that no matter what trials or tribulations I face, my Heavenly Father is right there with me. I know that I can bring everything to Him and that He will not forsake me even if I cry, scream, yell, or any number of other things that might cause others to turn away. He will stick right there with me and lovingly lead me to where He wants me to be. Why? Because He is my Lord, my Savior, and my Friend “who sticks closer than a brother!”

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

