Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 19, 2012

Thoughts About Today

 

Today, I sat and looked at a tiny white casket that held the precious body of my grandson, Silas Jeremey. Today, as tears stung my own eyes, I watched tears course down the cheeks of my son and daughter-in-law, and others as well as we all grappeled with such an unfathomable loss. But in spite of our sorrow today, I saw something more ….

  • The deep love of God

So many loved ones, people who cared, circled around a tent and that tiny casket – people who surely had other things to do and other places to be, but they came anyway eager to hug and love on us, and share in our sorrow. Then there were others who carried out every detail of the reception that followed in order that we might come together to talk, to share, to laugh, to cry. Not only was it humbling, but somehow I felt that each hug, smile, and tender expression was coming straight from the heart of God. As the Psalmist exclaimed: “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds” (Psalm 147:3).

  • The tender mercy of God

As much as I hurt today, I think it hurt me even more to see the pain of my son and daughter-in-law. It was almost more than I could bear. But in Psalm 103:13-14 we are reminded: “As the father pities his children, so the Lord pities those who fear Him. For He knows our frame. He remembers that we are dust.”  As much as I hurt for my children, God hurts even more. He truly cares for what we’re going through.

  • The unchanging promise of God

An uncertain, cloudy morning certainly matched the sadness we felt, but those clouds gave way to a balmy sky and a beautiful bright sunshine. What a reminder of the brightness of God’s glory and the hope we have in Him. One day we will be reunited with those we love and with Jesus Himself. “For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air” (1 Thessalonians 4:16-17).

  • The sweet peace and comfort of God

Today, once again, I experienced a comfort and peace that I truly cannot understand. I felt it in the comforting words of Scripture, the clear lilting notes of a beautiful voice lifted in song, the strains of a bagpipe echoing the chords of “Amazing Grace,” and in the still small voice within my heart that reminded me of my God’s sweet presence. “The Lord is near to all who call upon Him, to all who call upon Him in truth” (Psalm 145:18).

 

Today was not an easy day, but it was a blessed day. When I remember Silas, how we eagerly looked forward to his birth, and then how we gathered to say good-bye, I’ll remember… the faces of those who came alongside us during this most difficult time… and I’ll thank God for His love, His mercy, His promises, and His sweet comfort and peace. And instead of the clouds of the morning, I’ll remember the dazzling sunlight of the afternoon and know that our sweet Silas lives and one day we’ll see him again.

“Because I live, you will live also” (John 14:9b)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

