Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 6, 2012

When There Are No Words

Words are usually what I turn to in order to help me sort out what I’m thinking, clarify what’s on my mind and heart, and express my feelings. But sometimes there just aren’t any words. Tonight is one of those nights. Just this evening my son called from Chile to tell us that their precious, almost full-term son, my little nieto (I had just learned how to say grandson in Spanish) had died. So many questions, such few answers, and multiple broken hearts. There just aren’t any words.

But I’ve learned that at those times when there are no words, the only place to go is to the Word, my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. It is to Him that I clung with all my heart 34-1/2 years ago when my husband and I lost our first child. It is to Him that I clung during the saddest and hardest times of my life and He has always shown Himself faithful. So tonight, once again, I cling to Jesus and His Word.

Sometimes there are no answers to our suffering and pain,

Our broken hearts and shattered dreams we just cannot explain,

But I know I have a Father who loves and cares for me

And while I may not know His ways…. His heart He helps me see.

So in these times of trial when I just can’t understand,

There’s no other place I want to be than in my Father’s hands.

“For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:38-39).

Leave a Reply

Categories

