Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 1, 2012

The Answer Is Always Jesus

Most teachers of young kids in Sunday School will agree that no matter what question a teacher asks about a Bible story, the reply from a group of youngsters will most often be Jesus or God. Through the years as I’ve taught preschoolers and kindergartners, I’ve found this to be so true. It can actually be quite amusing at times. I can remember holding up a Bible story picture after telling a story about a particular Biblical character such as Moses, Jeremiah, or Peter and asking: “Who can tell me who this man is in this picture?” No matter how many times I had mentioned the character’s name while telling the story, inevitably the answer yelled out in chorus was “God” or “Jesus!”

I think the kids’ replies probably stem from their awareness that we go to church to learn about Jesus. Therefore, since we’re in church, the answer to any question must be Jesus. While we may laugh, however, they’ve really got it right. To be perfectly honest, the answer to any question we have in life is always Jesus!

Jesus is the answer to the big questions. Where should I go to school? Where should I work? Who should I marry? Where should I live?

Jesus is the answer to the little questions. How should I discipline my kids? How should I spend my money? Do I help at the mission? Should I take the trip?

No matter where we are in our lives, or what big or little questions we are facing, the answer is always Jesus! All the answers to our questions we can trust to Him, to work out in His time and His way.

My problem is that I know this. I know it with all my heart. Time and time again over the course of my life, I have seen Jesus lead me out of my failures, my problems, my worries, and even out of myself to a place of peace and hope. I’ve witnessed Him replace my doubts with faith and my discouragement with direction. In spite of all of this, however, sometimes I often find myself forgetting what I have in Christ. Instead of turning to Him with all my questions, even the simple ones, I’ll try to work things out myself. Yet the Scriptures remind us: “There is a way that seems right to a man, but its end is the way of death” (Proverbs 14:12).

Instead, just as my preschoolers already know, Jesus is always the answer. He should be the One that I go to first with my every question and need. Why?

  • My vision is limited. My vision is affected by my thoughts and feelings, my hurts and experiences. I tend to see things in light of what I think, what I feel, what seems right to me. Furthermore, I tend to see things as they appear to be. This is what Samuel encountered when he looked upon each of Jesse’s sons trying to determine which one God had chosen to be the next king. The Lord instructed Samuel: “Do not look at his appearance or his physical stature, because I have refused him. For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart” (1 Samuel 16:7). While we cannot see a person’s heart, Jesus has total vision. Likewise, He’s fully aware of what happened yesterday, what’s going on today, and what will occur tomorrow. He sees the big picture and knows how every issue I face and the decisions I make will affect not only me, but others as well.
  • My abilities are measured. I cannot do all things well. Some things I cannot do at all. I tend to place limitations on myself based on what I know about my abilities. Yet Jesus sees so much more in me than I see in myself. Jesus knows that with His guidance and help, I can accomplish so much more than what I think I can. I can be victorious in areas I never thought possible when I surrender what talents and abilities I have to Him to use as He sees fit.
  • My strength is small. As I get older, I know that my strength is diminishing. I do not have the same strength and stamina that I did when I was younger. But even as we grow older, we can find strength in the Lord. In fact, Paul stated in 2 Corinthians 12:9: “’My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” Jesus can still use us and accomplish much through us when we yield what strength we have to Him.
  • My love is imperfect. Sometimes my solutions to situations can be calculated. Is someone deserving? Do I approve of what they are doing? Have they hurt my feelings or done something unkind to me? Yet Christ taught: “This is My commandment, that you love one another, as I have loved you” (John 15:12). When I measure my love for others beside of Christ’s love for me, I realize how imperfect my love can be. Jesus forgave me totally, completely, and refuses to remember my sins. Paul reminds us in 1 Corinthians 13:4-8a:”Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things; endures all things. Love never fails.”

When I go to Jesus with my needs and questions, I surrender everything I am — my limited vision, my measured abilities, my small strength, and my imperfect love. But I also surrender all that I want to be, the deepest longings and desires of my heart. As I bring it all to Jesus, along with my questions and needs, and surrender it all to Him, I know that He will have the answer. The answer is always Jesus!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

