Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 27, 2012

What Satisfies?

Dictionary.com defines satisfy as follows: “to fulfill the desires, expectations, needs, or demands of; give full contentment to; to put an end to by sufficient or ample provision.” With that definition in mind, think about what truly satisfies you – not perhaps what ought to satisfy you – but what in your life is your true source of complete, total satisfaction? As you think about my question, let me share a few things that satisfy me.

  • Standing somewhere along the crest of the Blue Ridge and looking out over the layers upon layers of the seemingly never-ending, azure-blue mountain ranges. The indescribable view never grows old to me. For those moments in time, I feel totally, completely satisfied.

 

  • Gathered around the dining room table with my family – with everyone at home and all the chairs filled. With the kids all grown, this doesn’t happen as often as it used to, but, oh, how wonderful when it does. At those times, I feel complete contentment. I feel satisfied.

 

  • Sitting on the front porch swing with my husband, my friend – or walking with him around the park or lake – or watching a sunset on the beach together – or even going to town and stopping to get a biscuit (or a donut). At these times, too, I feel satisfied.

 

Coffee with my sister, Sunday afternoons, listening to beautiful music, enjoying the eager hug of a small child, feeling the softness of a newborn baby, on and on and on. I’m discovering that my list of what satisfies is hard to conclude. How about your list? What satisfies you?

As I thought about those things that satisfy me, however, I gradually began to discover that as much as I love all of these things that bring so much joy and contentment to my world, they themselves cannot completely satisfy my every longing, expectation, desire, or need. Neither should I expect them to do so. What truly satisfies is something much deeper than any of these objects of my contentment and joy. Namely, these things, and so many others like them, are gifts – precious blessings – that come from the only One who can truly satisfy.

The psalmist spoke of this One. “For He satisfies the longing soul, and fills the hungry soul with goodness” (Psalm 107:9). All of those blessings I enumerated above come straight from my Father’s hand. The joy and contentment they bring come from Him, “Who satisfies your mouth with good things, so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s” (Psalm 103:5). The people, places, and things that bless my heart and satisfy my soul are birthed in God’s awesome mercy and love. They are gifts from a God who desires to meet the deepest longings of our hearts and souls. As I pursue God and seek Him, I recognize God’s hand in the beauty of those mountains, in the faces of my family and loved ones, in the sweet and precious blessings with which He blesses me over and over. They are instruments of God’s grace that remind me of the One who ultimately satisfies.

And what’s more, His gifts bring me closer and closer to Him as I worship, thank, and praise Him for all the good things He gives me and for the ways He satisfies my soul. But even more than His gifts and blessings, I long to be satisfied with Him.  Like David, each of us who seek God’s presence and trust in Him can exclaim:

“O Lord, You are the portion of my inheritance and my cup;

You maintain my lot. The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places;

Yes, I have a good inheritance.

I will bless the Lord who has given me counsel; my heart also instructs me in the night seasons.

I have set the Lord always before me; because He is at my right hand

I shall not be moved.

Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices; my flesh also will rest in hope.

For You will not leave my soul in Sheol, nor will You allow Your Holy One

To see corruption.

You will show me the path of life; in Your presence is fullness of joy;

At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

(Psalm 16:5-11)

You know, sometimes our lives are not always filled with joy and contentment. Life in this world is sometimes plagued with difficulty and pain, but what joy to know that the One who satisfies us is also there for us during those times as well. During those times He assures us of His presence and reminds us of the hope we have in Him. Even in the darkest of times, He will satisfy us with His presence and peace. How comforting to know that our Heavenly Father is always with us and whatever our need, He is fully able to satisfy our hungry, longing souls!

 

 

“As for me, I will see Your face in righteousness; I shall be satisfied when I awake in Your likeness” (Psalm 17:15).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

