Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 19, 2012

The Big Love of God

The Big Love of God

Recently I have been reading the book Indescribable: Encountering the Glory of God in the Beauty of the Universe, co-authored by Louie Giglio and Matt Redman. Both Giglio, a pastor and speaker, and Redman, a musician and song-writer, share an interest and appreciation for the magnitude and wonder of the universe and how it points us to the Creator. The book is fascinating reading and contains much information regarding the majesty and immensity of the world God created. While much of the information regarding astronomical discoveries is far beyond my understanding and comprehension, the sheer immensity and wonder they describe point me straight to our truly awesome and indescribable Creator. It is just as the psalmist proclaimed: “The heavens declare the glory of God, and the firmament shows His handiwork. Day unto day utters speech; and night unto night reveals knowledge. There is no speech nor language where their voice is not heard; their line has gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world” (Psalm 19:1-4a).

As I look into the heavens, however, and contemplate the beauty and wonder of all God made, not only do I respond in awe and worship, but I also feel kind of small. I feel like David who cried out: “When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, the moon and the stars, which You have ordained, what is man that You are mindful of him, and the son of man that You visit him?” (Psalm 8:3-4) How could someone like me matter to a God so great and awesome?

But we do! God loves us! That is the glorious truth of the gospel. Not only does God’s Word declare His love for us, but He showed His love by sending His Son Jesus to save us – every last one of us, no matter how small or how unimportant we may feel (see 1 John 4:9-10). The truth is that not only is God the Creator of a big world, but that He is also the brandisher of a big love! This love, just like the world He created, is far beyond our ability to explain or understand. Yet it’s there, even if we don’t comprehend it, and even if we fail to receive it.

This was illustrated to me this weekend in a most unusual way – through our dog, Snickers! Actually, Snickers belongs to our son and daughter-in-law but she is presently living with us. Snickers weighs about 50 lbs., is a husky mix, and is one of the sweetest dogs you would ever want to meet. She is very friendly, fairly obedient (unless a squirrel or rabbit is involved), and is a loving, sweet companion. Yet Snickers, who has never been hurt or abused, is scared of anything that she does not understand. She runs from the broom, the vacuum, the trash bag, my husband when he wears a particular hat, and believe it or not, the laptop computer when “it talks.” On Saturday, we were skyping with my son and daughter-in-law when they asked if they could see Snickers. After calling her inside, we led her to the coffee table where the laptop was set up. Hearing “talking” however, she immediately panicked and ran the other direction into our bedroom. She jumped up on the bed as if she were trying to hide herself behind the decorative pillows. No amount of coaxing made her budge. I pulled her to the edge of the bed, thinking she would give in, but instead she went totally limp and rolled off the bed onto the floor.

Realizing Snickers was not going to the laptop, we had the bright idea to bring the laptop to her.  We retrieved the laptop from the coffee table and proceeded to hold it up in front of Snickers who sat on the floor with drooping head and downcast eyes in spite of the sweet, loving voices calling to her from the laptop. Finally, we gave in and left Snickers lying on the bedroom floor, as we carried the laptop back to the living room to finish our visit.

Afterwards as we petted and loved on Snickers, it occurred to me how often we can be like that with God. We have a big God who declares His big and great love for us, yet for some reason we just don’t believe it. Snickers knows us and loves us. We’ve never done anything to hurt her. Yet she allows her unfound fears to sometimes rob her of other blessings. On Saturday, she missed out on “seeing” and enjoying the two people who mean the world to her. What do we miss out on when we fail to take God at His Word and live our lives truly believing Him?

When I look up into the sky and around me at the many wonders of God’s creation, I am in awe of His might and power. When I question my worth in light of a universe that is so big and indescribable, I am overwhelmed by His love which He demonstrated through His Son, Jesus. And when I have fears or don’t understand, I need to take them straight to this same God, knowing that not only is He big enough to handle them, but that He also loves me enough to walk through them with me. Will I accept this big love my Father offers, or will I lie in a heap on the floor with drooping head and downcast eyes, bemoaning my pitiful position? The choice is up to each one of us. De we accept or reject the big love of God?

 

“Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love;

Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you.”

(Jeremiah 31:3).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

