Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 23, 2012

A Conquering Love

I love my husband! He is supportive, encouraging, and I know that I can always count on him to be there for me. But at the same time, I also know that when I really want someone’s absolute, honest opinion, I go to one of my daughters – not my husband. I know that my husband doesn’t want to hurt my feelings, so he is hesitant to be brutally honest.

This past weekend I was trying to put together an outfit for an event for which I wasn’t quite sure what to wear. After trying on practically everything I owned – and varying combinations of everything I owned – I called for Stacy, my oldest daughter. It didn’t take long for her to confirm what I already knew – nothing worked. The colors didn’t match, the top was too tight, it was too dressy or not dressy enough, it was green instead of brown (it was really brown!), on and on, as practically everything I owned ended up in a pile on my bed. With each attempt, Stacy would cock her sweet little head, then nod kindly and suggest that we try something else.

Finally, we ended up with two outfits that we thought would work. As I modeled each one in front of my husband, he would look approvingly, smile, and say: “Looks good!” Stacy gave her honest opinion of which one she thought looked the best and I went with it. I knew I could trust her.

So with the outfit picked out, all that remained was to find the right pair of shoes to wear with it. Since I only had two pairs that would match, that decision seemed to be a little easier. “See what Daddy thinks,” suggested Stacy. I smiled and went to model the complete outfit wearing a different shoe on each foot. “Okay,” I announced. “This is what I’m wearing. What do you think?” Once again, he looked at me, smiled, and said: “Looks good!”

Exasperated, Stacy exclaimed: “Daddy, she can’t go like that! Tell me what’s wrong!”

My husband dutifully looked at me from head to toe. “Why? What’s wrong?” he asked. “It looks good!”

Finally, with our coaxing and much laughter, my husband finally realized that I was wearing a different kind of shoe on each foot. “Either one looks good,” he advised, “just wear the one that feels the best.”

Thinking about my husband and daughter later, it occurred to me how each of them, in their own individual ways, modeled the love of Jesus. My husband’s actions remind me of the unconditional love of my Savior. Jesus loves me just as I am regardless of the clothes or shoes I wear. He sees me for who I am, not for the person I’m dressed up to be. At the same time, Stacy’s actions remind me of my Savior’s transforming love for me. While He loves me unconditonally, He also longs to help me become more of what He wants me to be. In much the same way that Stacy patiently pulled pieces together and made different outfits, Jesus pulls all the different pieces of my life together to help me become the person He knows I can be.

 

Just as my husband and Stacy’s actions remind me of Jesus’ love, my responses to them also convicted me of ways I respond to Jesus as He works in my life. Sometimes I yield to His transforming work in me. I like the way He orchestrates the different pieces of my life. At other times, I may struggle with the pieces He puts together and I may question and argue just as I did with Stacy. (I know those slacks were brown!) Yet, although I may not have agreed, I knew that I could trust Stacy because I knew she wanted the best for me.

In the same way, I know that even when I do not understand the various pieces of my life, I can trust Jesus with every detail because of His great love for me. How can I be so confident of Jesus’ love? Jesus showed me His love when He died for me. “For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly. For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:6-8). But not only does Christ’s love save us, it transforms us as we live our lives each day. Paul told the Corinthians: “For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus; that if One died for all, then all died; and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again” (2 Corinthians 5:14-15). Christ’s love for us compels us to live our lives differently, not for ourselves but for Him.

It is when we yield to Christ in our lives, and rest in His amazing love, that we can know the conquering love we find in Christ. “Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:37-39). No matter what troubles may come our way, or what struggles we may face, we can find strength in knowing that Christ has us covered with His amazing love. And it looks good on all of us!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

