Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 16, 2012

When It All Falls Apart!

After teaching preschool and kindergarten Sunday School for over 30 years, you would think I’d have it altogether – that I would know what I’m doing. But this past Sunday morning caused me to stand back, scratch my head, and wonder what had just happened! I’m not sure if it was the child who would not stop moaning over a bug bite that itched so terribly that she just couldn’t stand it, or if it was the young fellow during clean-up time who decided to try to lift the fairly-good sized bookrack up over his head, spilling books to the floor. Then again, it may have been the three imaginative ones who decided to make a circle of chairs and climb over them into a “cave” (all while I was catching and uprighting the bookrack)!  For whatever reason, my Sunday School class seemed to be completely falling apart.

But as I played catch the bookrack and had everyone sit down after the “cave” incident – and as I thought about it later, I couldn’t help but smile. While it was a difficult morning to say the least, I was reminded of three important things that are still true even when it all falls apart.

1. God knows my situation and God knows my heart. As Hannah prayed in 1 Samuel 2:3b: “For the Lord is the God of knowledge; and by Him actions are weighed.”

2. God knows what I need better than I may know myself. “For your Father knows the things you have need of before you ask Him” (Matthew 6:8b).

3. God is able. As the Lord said to the prophet Jeremiah: “Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh. Is there anything too hard for Me?” (Jeremiah 32:27)

In spite of the calamities that morning, all was not lost. God accomplished much.

  • The kids decorated and packed a bag of food to donate to a food pantry. We talked about helping others and prayed for the people who would receive our bag of food.
  • Boys and girls heard the Bible story about the church in Antioch that sent food and money to help the church in Jerusalem that was experiencing a famine.
  • The kids looked at illustrations of people who needed help and named ways they would help each person in the illustrations.
  • The little girl with the bug bite experienced first-hand how it felt to be helped as I walked her down the hall to get some medicine (and of course, a bandaid) to make it all better.

In short, God didn’t allow a few less than favorable incidents to get in His way of helping boys and girls hear a Bible story, apply a Bible verse, and hopefully leave with a little better  understanding of how He wants us to work together and help one another.

Once again, God reminded me that all He asks of me is to do my part – to plan, to prepare, to love and teach the kids the best I can, but the results are all His. And even when things fail to go as planned, I can trust Him to take what I have to offer, to bring meaning out of the chaos, and to accomplish His work in ways that I may never have imagined – even when it all falls apart!

 

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding;

In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.”

(Proverbs 3:5-6)

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

