Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 21, 2011

My Greatest Blessing!

Every year at Thanksgiving I am challenged to count my blessings and to think about all those gifts for which I am thankful. And every year at Thanksgiving, I feel overwhelmed! Where do I begin? It seems next to impossible to truly count all my blessings. But I try. I thank God for my husband who has always stood beside me through thick and thin, my number one supporter and encourager. I give thanks for my children and for the unique ways God has gifted each of them, and I am especially thankful that not only are they my kids, but also my friends! I thank God for my sister. We’ve been through a lot together and I couldn’t have asked for a better buddy during our growing-up years and I’m so thankful that she’s still my comrade through both the good and bad.

But, then I remember why this is so hard to do. So many faces run through my mind – family members who have been there during tough times, friends who have laughed and cried with me, individuals who have taught me or prayed for me or who have shared a special time in my life. How dear and special all of these people are to me and I am so thankful for each one!

So, then I try to think of other blessings for which I’m thankful. And, again, I’m overwhelmed! This world is filled with so much beauty and wonder. I am so thankful for my eyes that can behold the beauty of the first rays of sunlight peeking above the mountains, or the golden sunset that melts into the ocean. I’m thankful for my ears that can hear the raucous caw of crows and the lonely cry of the seagulls, not to mention the whimper of a newborn baby. And, oh how glad I am that I can fling open my windows in the summertime and smell the rain, or the sweet scent of the honeysuckle. I’m also thankful for hands that can reach out and give a comforting touch to a friend, and that can fold laundry and dust the furniture. I give thanks for feet and that I can walk, and that I can feel the wet sand between my toes when I walk barefoot on the beach.

Oh, so many things for which to be thankful, and I honestly feel as though I’m just getting started. I’m sure you probably feel the same way. We are truly blessed! I am reminded of Psalm 68:19: “Blessed be the Lord, Who daily loads us with benefits, the God of our salvation!”And then I realize that my Lord is truly my greatest blessing! It is because of Him that I can rejoice in all of these other myriad blessings. He is the provider of each and every one. It is He Who created me and Who gives my life meaning, direction, and purpose. It is He who blesses me with family, friends, and people who love and support me. It is He who gives me opportunities to enjoy the beautiful world He made, to know the contentment that comes from work, and the pleasure that comes from life’s simple joys.

So, on this Thanksgiving week, I want to take time each day to thank God for being my God, the source of all my joys and blessings. Psalm 103:1-14 says it very well.

“Bless the Lord, O my soul; and all that is within me, bless His holy name!
Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits:
Who forgives all your iniquities, Who heals all your diseases,
Who redeems your life from destruction,
Who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies,
Who satisfies your mouth with good things,
So that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.
The Lord executes righteousness and justice for all who are oppressed.
He made known His ways to Moses, His acts to the children of Israel.
The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and abounding in mercy.
He will not always strive with us, nor will He keep His anger forever.
He has not dealt with us according to our sins,
Nor punished us according to our iniquities.
For as the heavens are high above the earth,
So great is His mercy toward those who fear Him;
As far as the east is from the west, so far has He removed our transgressions from us.
As a father pities his children, so the Lord pities those who fear Him.
For He knows our frame; He remembers that we are dust.”

And I’d like to add my own psalm of thanksgiving to the One who is my greatest blessing.

O, Father, I thank You,
For all that You are,
Almighty God,
Bright Morning Star.
You know all about me,
my victories, my trials.
You know my heart
and my deepest desires.
You’re always with me,
filling my cup.
You see when I’m weary,
and You lift me up.
You give blessings abundant,
Answer prayers that are prayed,
Because You are with me,
I can look ahead, unafraid.
For each day I know
I’m under Your watchful eyes,
As I dwell in Your presence
and in You I abide.
Leave a Reply

Categories

