Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 7, 2011

Chosen

It is both amusing and heart-rending to watch young children clamor for attention. Whether it is waving hands begging to be chosen or silly antics to gain attention, kids yearn to be recognized. And whether we like to admit it or not, the same is true for adults as well. Although we may play all kinds of games to make others thinks that we could care less, deep down in the heart of every human being is the desire to be noticed, to be special, to be chosen!

Oftentimes this desire can lead us to do all kinds of things we wouldn’t dream of doing otherwise. We may put down others in an effort to build ourselves up. We may do things we know are wrong just to be chosen and accepted by somebody else. We may not necessarily do anything wrong, but our motivation for everything we do is our desire to be noticed and accepted by a certain person or group of people. In other words, we live to be chosen.

I’ve been there. As a child, I can remember waving my hand in the air wanting to be called on and then recognized when I answered a question correctly. I can also remember standing in the dwindling group of classmates as two other kids chose us one by one to make two teams. I can still feel the knot I felt in my stomach all those years ago as I hoped with all my heart that I wouldn’t be the last kid left standing. I wanted to be chosen.

And it didn’t end with those early school years. I’m sure most of us remember waiting for the phone to ring, searching the mail for the invitation, and saying and doing things trying to be chosen. Even as adults we’ve clamored for jobs and promotions and recognition, not to mention marriage partners. And in all these endeavors, if you’re like me, we never let anyone except those closest to us know how we felt when the phone didn’t ring, the invitation didn’t come, when we weren’t chosen. Instead we pretended it really didn’t matter and kept both the desire and the hurt carefully tucked away where no one would ever know.

But, oh, if I had only realized then what I know now! The truth is, it really doesn’t matter when I’m not chosen. Why? Because I have already been chosen! I was chosen back then when I waited and wondered and I’m chosen now no matter what comes my way. I have been chosen by the Creator and Sustainer of the universe! I am chosen by God! “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love” (Ephesians 1:3-4). I was chosen by God long before I was ever born. I was chosen by Him before the foundation of the world. Before I ever uttered my first cry, God had already chosen me. While I cannot fully comprehend what it means to be chosen by God, I am aware of a few things it means to me.

  • He chose me as a I am. I don’t have to pretend or try to be somebody I’m not in order to be accepted by God. He has already chosen me just as I am, then He asks me to choose Him. “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).
  • He chose me because He loved me. I don’t have to try to earn God’s love. I don’t have to be good enough, smart enough, or rich enough. “In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins” (1 John 4:10).
  • He chose me for a purpose. “But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, His own special people, that you may proclaim the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light, who once were not a people but are now the people of God, who had not obtained mercy but now have obtained mercy” (1 Peter 2:9-10). God has chosen believers to be set apart to do His work. He calls us to serve in different ways and capacities, but we are chosen to serve Him and to proclaim His praises. We are called to live lives that honor and glorify our Heavenly Father.

Just think how much freedom being chosen brings! There’s no need to strive and compete to earn acceptance or approval. We are secure in our Heavenly Father’s love and acceptance. We know that there is nothing we can do to make Him love us any more or any less because we did nothing to earn or deserve His love. His love is unconditional. “For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:38-39). This same love, however, compels us to live our lives for Him, thereby giving our lives purpose and meaning. “For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus: that if One died for all, then all died; and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who did for them and rose again” (2 Corinthians 5:14-15). We are compelled to share the love of God with others and to honor and glorify the God who loves us.

Being chosen reminds me of a story I heard recently about a young child who just learned that he had been adopted. At first he was dejected to think that the parents he knew were not his real mother and father. However, after his parents wisely explained how they had chosen him to be theirs, he immediately brightened. He wasn’t theirs by chance, but by choice. He was chosen. In the same way, we are not God’s children by chance. Psalm 139:16 reminds us: “Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.” God chose me even then. I was already chosen when as as a child I waited and wondered. I was already chosen as an adult when I tried to prove myself in so many ways. And today, I know I am chosen, not because of anything I have done, but because of what God, my Father, has done for me. Thank You, Father!

Leave a Reply

Categories

