Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 24, 2011

My Ever Faithful God

Every year around this time the mountains of Western North Carolina are transformed into beautiful blankets of color. Like a child at Christmas, I eagerly wait and watch for the first muted changes, and then exult each week as the beautiful reds and golds intermingle to form a show like no other – fall in the mountains. But then just as quickly as they came, the first freeze hits and the trees begin to shed their leaves by bucketfuls, creating red, golden, and brown carpets on yards, paths, and roadways. The colorful blankets are replaced with stark, bare tree trunks, signaling the ending of fall and the coming of winter.

But winter is not the end, for in just a few short months, after snow, ice, and cold winds, the first green sprouts appear. Bare trees begin to once again sport shiny new green leaves, grasses turn green, and the first flowers begin to bloom. Spring has come.

And I am reminded once again of God’s promise: “While the earth remains, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, winter and summer, and day and night shall not cease” (Genesis 8:22). Each season helps me remember that God is faithful. He fulfills what He promised. I can trust in Him and depend on Him.

Although I know this in my heart, I can sometimes personally get stuck in the loneliness of late fall or the barrenness of winter. We’ve all been there. It could be precipitated by any number of things – an untimely death, an unexpected diagnosis, a shattered dream, or a lost hope, to name just a few. And in that moment, instead of remembering that God is faithful and that we can trust in Him, we fret and worry. We tell God what we want Him to do or how we want Him to handle the situation. Then we cannot understand when God seems strangely silent. We wonder if God is really there. Is He listening? Does He care? But I have learned that the problem is not with God, but me.

Trusting in God is not believing He will do what I want or think He should do, but knowing that I can trust the situation to Him. As the prophet Isaiah stated: “‘For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways My ways,’ says the Lord. ‘For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts” (Isaiah 55:8-9). If I truly believe in God, then I know that He is there, that He does listen, and that He really cares about me – even when what I want and how God acts is not always the same.

One of my favorite Scriptures was penned by the prophet Jeremiah who experienced unfathomable hardships. Unpopular with many of the religious and political leaders of Judah because of His prophecies of judgment and the coming destruction of Jerusalem, Jeremiah endured threats against his life, persecution, and imprisonment. With all he endured, however, he was still able to proclaim: “Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. ‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘therefore I hope in Him!’ (Lamentations 3:22-24).

Jeremiah’s hope did not bring disappointment. Chapter 39 of Jeremiah recounts the fall of Jerusalem when Nebuchadnezzar and his army besieged Jerusalem. Although the majority of the people in Jerusalem were captured and carried into Babylon, Nebuchadnezzar gave special instructions for Jeremiah who at the time was imprisoned in Jerusalem. Read how the invading army set Jeremiah free.

“Now Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon gave charge concerning Jeremiah to Nebuzaradan the captain of the guard, saying, ‘Take him and look after him, and do him no harm; but do to him just as he says to you.’ So Nebuzaradan the captain of the guard sent Nebushasban, Rabsaris, Nergal-Sharezer, Rabmag, and all the king of Babylon’s chief officers; then they sent someone to take Jeremiah from the court of the prison, and committed him to Gedaliah the son of Ahikam, the son of Shaphan, that he should take him home. So he dwelt among the people” (Jeremiah 39:11-14).

Jeremiah had endured many hardships as he delivered the message given to him by God. At times he may have wondered why he had to suffer when he was being obedient. But at a time when Jeremiah probably felt all was lost, God proved Himself faithful in a surprising way and delivered Jeremiah.

When we place our hope in God, we, too, can discover God’s faithfulness in ways we may never have imagined. Perhaps instead of opening a closed door, He will help you find fulfillment where you are. Maybe you will receive something you desired more than anything else in the world, but only after first surrendering everything to Him and following His will instead of chasing your desire. And just maybe, you will see His faithfulness when you receive a peace beyond all understanding as you walk through a situation that cannot be changed.

At such times, when we see firsthand God’s faithfulness, we are overwhelmed by the God we serve.

  • God’s knowledge of us is perfect.

“O Lord, You have searched me and known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; You nderstand my thought afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word on my tongue, but behold, O Lord, You know it altogether. You have hedged me behind and before, and laid Your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain it” (Psalm 139:1-6).

  • God’s ways are inscrutable.

“Have you not known? Have you not heard? The everlasting God, the Lord, the Creator of the ends of the earth, neither faints nor is weary. His understand is unsearchable. He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might He increases strength” (Isaiah 40:28-29).

  • God’s ways are unsearchable.

“Oh, the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are His judgments and His ways past finding out! ‘For who has kown the mind of the Lord? Or who has become His counselor? Or who has first given to Him and it shall be repaid to him?’ For of Him and through Him and to Him are all things, to whom be glory forever. Amen” (Romans 11:33-36).

  • God’s love is unquestionable.

“In this the love of God was manifested toward us, that God has sent His only begotten Son into the world, that we might live throuh Him. In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins” (! John 4:9-10).

  • God’s love never fails.

“Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded, that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor neight nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:37-39).

Just as fall gives way to winter, winter turns into spring, and spring ushers in summer, God works in us through every season of our lives. Even when I am in the midst of a winter season, I know that my ever faithful God is working and that spring will come. Just as I can trust in Him to control the cold of winter and the heat of summer, I know I can trust Him with every season of my life. With His perfect knowledge of me, His inscrutable, unsearchable ways, and His love that is steadfast and sure, how could I not surrender everything to Him, my ever faithful God?

Leave a Reply

Categories

