Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 9, 2011

A Mother’s Excitement

I smiled this weekend as I saw numerous posts on Facebook from a very excited mother (you know who you are!). Her son was coming home after being away for five months. She mentioned having to go to the store – now all mothers know that’s a have-to when our kids come home – and all the yummy things she was cooking for him. She commented on how proud she was of him and how proud she was to be his Mom. And then she said something that tugged at my own heart strings: “When I see him walk through that door, I’m probably going to cry.”

Oh, how I know just what this sweet mother means and I’m sure there are plenty other mothers out there who feel the same way. After all, you just can’t invest twenty-something years into a young life and then just wave good-bye and close the door on your heart when he or she leaves. Whether we want to admit it or not – and whether our children want to hear it or not – once a mother, always a mother. You just can’t stop loving, caring, thinking about, and even offering a little advice every now and then. Although our hearts know our grown children no longer need us as they once did, we know that they will forever be on our hearts and minds because in their own inimitable ways, they’ve entrenched themselves in our lives forever. We laugh when they laugh, cry when they cry, we share their hopes and dreams, their worries and concerns. And through it all, we become much more than parent and child, we become friends.

I wonder – is that what happens between us and our Heavenly Father? Like a parent, does He watch us as we timidly take those first steps as believers? Surely He sees us as we stumble and sometimes fall as we learn to walk. He holds out His hands to us and helps us get back up. He listens as we cry and watches as we struggle, yet He dries our tears and helps us get back up and keep on trying until one day He stands back and smiles as He sees His child clothed in the righteousness of Christ take not just one step, but perhaps two. He grins from ear to ear as He watches that same child who couldn’t stand up straight suddenly start to run. Surely, God smiles. He may even laugh out loud as He sees His child do something that the child never thought possible. Would it be irreverent to think that God may even clap His hands and rejoice over His child’s victories? As the prophet Zephaniah stated: “He (the Lord) will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing” (Zephaniah 3:17b).

I feel sure that God rejoices over His children as much as any parent. And I am just as sure that He never stops watching over us and loving us. Just as my kids are forever entrenched in my heart, the Lord assures us of His continued concern for His people. “Can a woman forget her nursing child, and not have compassion on the son of her womb? Surely they may forget, yet I will not forget you. See, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands; your walls are continually before Me” (Isaiah 49:15-16). God’s love and concern surpasses any human love. We are continually before Him and He will never forget us.

As I think about my walk with the Lord, I’m so thankful for His love and mercy that didn’t give up on me the first, second, third or later time that I stumbled and fell. I’m thankful for the way He leads me, the things He teaches me, and how He shows me through His Word and the life of Christ the kind of person He wants me to be. I hope that sometimes He has been able to look at my life and smile, perhaps even clap His hands and rejoice because He saw signs of Christ in me. And when it is time for me to go home, I know that He will be watching and waiting. And while He may not cry like the mother excited to see her son, I’m sure that He will be drying my tears as I come face to face with my Father, my Savior, and my forever Friend.

Responses

  1. Kathy, you have no idea what a blessing you are to me thru this site. This one especially tugged at my heart strings. Teresa

    • Teresa, I’m so glad that you have been blessed by some of these devotions. Usually, they result from something God brings to my mind through something I experience or a Scripture I read, and so they are usually something I need to hear as well – so God blesses both of us! Thanks for letting me know!


Leave a Reply

Categories

