Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 26, 2011

Waiting and Resting

 

Waiting and resting? Perhaps you’re like me and sometimes feel that those two words cannot possibly go together. Can we really rest while we wait?

 

I am presently in the process of waiting for vacation, but not just any vacation. This vacation was planned weeks ago after receiving a go ahead from my son and daughter-in-law with dates they could squeeze into a packed schedule. As many of you know, they will soon be leaving to work with the Aymara people inChileso between working, fund-raising for mission expenses, and dealing with all the details of selling possessions and preparing to move, their time is definitely at a premium. Yet they have been faithful to try to spend meaningful time with both of their families before they leave – thus, our vacation.

 

The time for this vacation is almost here and we have all been eagerly looking forward to returning to one of our favorite places – the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Then the week before our planned departure, what should appear on the radar screen? Hurricane Irene! This storm, promising to be the strongest to strike the East Coast in seven years, is threatening practically the entire eastern coast of theUnited States. Mandatory evacuations have been ordered all along the projected path. We have been contacted by the rental company informing us to stay put until we hear from them after the storm. So, with bags half-packed and the wind pretty much knocked out of my sails, I wait!

 

But I’ve discovered that I can’t just wait. I think, I wonder, I go over different scenarios in my head, I fidgit. In short, I wear myself out wondering about all the what if’s of something over which I have no control. I wait, but I’m certainly not resting.

 

My husband, on the other hand, is pretty good at waiting. I used to think that he couldn’t wait, but I’ve learned a few things since then. You see, my husband, can’t sit still and wait. If he goes with me to the doctor, rarely will I find him sitting quietly waiting for me in the waiting room. He’ll be in the car, cleaning out the glove box, dusting the dash, adjusting the mirrors, etc. I’ve learned not to be alarmed if I even find him looking under the car or standing with the hood raised and staring at the engine. My husband has learned that he waits best if he stays busy.

 

The Bible tells us a few things about waiting. Psalm 27:14 states: “Wait on the Lord; be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; wait, I say, on the Lord!” Isaiah 40:31 adds: “But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.” These Scriptures remind me that there is a way to find rest in our waiting. It doesn’t matter if I sit quietly and wait or if I wipe the car dash until it shines, rest comes from where my heart is fixed.

 

As long as I agonize over decisions and worry over situations, I cannot find rest. As long as I think everything depends on me to work things out, I cannot find rest. But when I place my confidence in God and wait on Him, then I find peace while I wait. And as the above Scriptures confirm, when I rest in the Lord and wait on Him, I can find renewed strength and energy.

 

I don’t know if we’ll make it to the Outer Banks or not, but I can wait and rest as long as I surrender the whole situation to God and place my confidence in Him. That doesn’t mean that I may not be sad, but God’s Word promises that when we trust in Him that He will strengthen my heart and renew my energy. And who knows what God may have in store? As Paul told the Romans: “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose” (Romans 8:28). I’m going to rest in God and wait and who knows, I may even check under the car hood, but I have no idea what I’ll see!

 

 

 

 

Note:

As important as our vacation and time with my family may seem to me, I realize it is the least of the concerns that accompany this massive storm. Fears of loss of lives, livelihoods, and untold damage and destruction loom over the entire eastern seaboard. Please join me in praying for all of the people in the path of Hurricane Irene and for their safety and protection. Let us also pray that anxious hearts and minds might find a measure of comfort and peace as they rest in God.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

