Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 7, 2011

Created By God

 

Isn’t it funny how a simple fragrance, sight, or sound can suddenly transport us into another place or moment in time? For me, summer time is filled with sights and sounds that carry me back to my childhood. The smell of fresh mown grass still reminds me of Daddy mowing the lawn on Saturday afternoons, then resting in his recliner watching a baseball game on the television. Trips to the farmers market and produce stands remind me of both of my parents. Summers were always busy with planting, hoeing, picking, and canning. Stringing beans or silking corn always take me back to those childhood summers. Even a ride on the Parkway and seeing a cool mountain stream reminds me of picnics, wading in freezing cold water, and eating some of those fresh vegetables we had just harvested.

 

Each of us have memories that can be triggered in a moment by something we hear, see, taste, smell, or touch. My kids’ memories of summer time are probably quite different from my childhood summers. Perhaps the smell of a leather ball glove or the ping of a bat remind them of countless weekends spent at the nearby softball and baseball fields. Skipping rocks in a creek, swimming in a pool, sipping Pepsi Freezes, and eating  watermelon on Sunday afternoons probably all incite a few memories of their childhood summers.

 

As I think about this connection between our senses and our memories, I find myself feeling so thankful to our Creator. Psalm 139:14 reminds us that God made us fearfully and wonderfully. He thoughtfully and skillfully fashioned and created every intricate process in our bodies. But He didn’t stop there! This psalm assures us that God also fashioned our days (see verse 16). Whether or not we agree with everything He ordered in our lives, the Scriptures are clear that He planned our days. I wasn’t born by accident or according to my parent’s plan or design. God planned for me to be born into my family according to His time and purpose.

 

This creative act of God, however, was not aloof and distant. It was done carefully and thoughtfully. “You have searched me and known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways” (see verses 1-3). Who better knows us than the One who made us? He knew the family I needed and the family who needed me. Before I uttered my first cry, God knew His purpose for my life and the people and events through which that purpose could best be realized.

 

But He also knows my frailties, my anxieties, and my deepest concerns and thoughts. Psalm 103:14 states: “For He knows our frame; He remembers that we are dust.” God planned and created us, He knows us inside out, and He constantly thinks about us. “How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand” (Psalm 139:17-18a). God doesn’t create us and forget about us. Once He’s done His part, He doesn’t tell us that now we are on our own. “For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth to show Himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal to Him” (2 Chronicles 16:9a).

 

God created each of us wonderfully with thought and care. He invested Himself in us, sending His own Son to redeem us so that we might have fellowship with Him. His knowledge of us is perfect, from the things we do to the thoughts we think. He sees both our joys and our disappointments. And in His wisdom and understanding, He knows just when we need a reminder of someone, somewhere, sometime that made a difference in our lives. That is when a fresh mown lawn, rows of fresh garden vegetables, a cool mountain stream, or any number of fragrances, sights, and sounds can take us back, refresh, and encourage us we remember – and in the process, we are reminded of our awesome God and His faithfulness as well.

 

Dear Heavenly Father,

I can’t begin to comprehend

How great You truly are,

Creator of the universe,

The sun, the moon, the stars.

Yet the crown of Your creation,

You carefully fashioned just so,

Expressing your image and likeness

In ways only you truly know.

I pray I’ll reflect You, Father,

However You patterned my life,

So when others watch my life,

They’ll receive a glimpse of Christ.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

