Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 17, 2011

He Knows My Thoughts

I love to think about the fact that Jesus knows my name. The Scripture tells us “To him (Jesus, our Shepherd) the doorkeeper opens, and the sheep hear his voice; and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out” (John 10:3). It is comforting to know that Jesus knows me by my name. He knows where I am, what I’m doing, and what joys or troubles I may be facing. He knows all about me!

Yet not quite as comforting is the realization that in His perfect knowledge of me, Jesus also knows my thoughts. Psalm 44:21b confirms: “For He knows the secrets of the heart.” No matter how I may conceal my true feelings to others, Jesus knows me inside out. He knows my true thoughts. He knows what I’m thinking when I smile politely, but churn inwardly. While I may be able to hide what I’m thinking to others, I can’t hide my thoughts from Jesus.

Luke 7:36-50 tells the story of Simon, a Pharisee, who invited Jesus to his house to eat with him. While Jesus was there, a woman in the city who was a sinner came to where Jesus was sitting, and began to weep. The Scriptures tell us that she washed Jesus’ feet with her tears, wiped them with her hair, and anointed them with fragrant oil. As Simon watched her, he began to think to himself, “This Man, if He were a prophet, would know who and what manner of woman this is who is touching Him, for she is a sinner” (Luke 7:39b). He didn’t say anything to Jesus, but He sure was thinking of what he’d like to say. Jesus turned to Simon and said, “I have something to say to you” (Luke 7:40). Then Jesus proceeded to explain that the woman’s actions were an expression of love for Him – much love because she had been forgiven of much. Simon didn’t have to say a word. Jesus saw His heart. He knew what Simon was thinking. Neither did Jesus have to guess why the sinful woman acted as she did because He saw her heart. He knew that her heart was overflowing with love for her Savior who had forgiven her of so much.

Don’t you wonder about Simon’s reaction when Jesus turned and addressed him over something he had thought, but not said? I can’t help but smile. “How did He know what I was thinking?” Simon probably wondered. But it also makes me squirm a little to think about myself. Are there times when my thoughts don’t match my actions? Do I help others out of love, or out of duty? Do I volunteer because of what is on my heart or so that I’ll be recognized? Do I truly have a desire to serve or do I just do what is expected of me? Am I honestly concerned with the needs of others or do I just want to please others? In other words, when Jesus looks at my actions and searches my heart and thoughts, what does He see? Am I just going through the motions, or am I motivated by my love for Jesus?

Sometimes I am sure that my thoughts make Jesus sad. Instead of being kind and forgiving, I may be critical and judgmental. Perhaps instead of eagerly seizing opportunities to serve someone in Jesus’ name, I look for excuses. And sometimes I may do all the right things, but for all the wrong reasons. But, ironically, it is at times such as these that I am even more thankful that Jesus knows the secrets of my heart. For in spite of all my mess-ups and mistakes, my shouldn’t haves or should haves, I can know that Jesus knows my heart. As David told his son Solomon to serve the Lord “with a loyal heart and with a willing mind; for the Lord searches all hearts and understands all the intent of the thoughts” (see 1 Chronicles 28:9). He knows if my heart is loyal to Him even if I make a poor choice. The Scripture tells us: “For if our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and knows all things.” (1 John 3:20). Our thoughts and actions may condemn us, but God looks upon us through Christ’s atoning work on the cross. He sees the Spirit working in us to accomplish His purposes through our lives. He not only sees our mistakes, but He understands our struggles.

It is hard to fathom such a God. He knows me completely, even my imperfect thoughts, yet He still loves me. He doesn’t give up on me but continues to work in me through His Spirit. Psalm 103:8-14 declares:

“The Lord is merciful and gracious,

Slow to anger, and abounding in mercy.

He will not always strive with us,

Nor will He keep His anger forever.

He has not dealt with us according to our sins,

Nor punished us according to our iniquities.

For as the heavens are high above the earth,

So great is His mercy toward those who fear Him;

As far as the east is from the west,

So far has He removed our transgressions from us.

As a father pities his children,

So the Lord pities those who fear Him.

For He knows our frame;

He remembers that we are dust.”

 

When my heart condemns me, I take it to Jesus and confess it to Him. Through His mercy and forgiveness, He helps me put it behind me and keep on going. He renews me by His Spirit. He knows me, yet He loves me. May I love Him even more!

Leave a Reply

Categories

