Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 10, 2011

Trust + Contentment = Peace

I love watching kids. This weekend I had the opportunity to visit the Georgia Aquarium in Atlanta, Georgia. In addition to thoroughly enjoying the aquatic exhibits and reveling in the wonderful diversity in God’s creation, I also watched kids – countless kids of all sizes, shapes, and temperaments. I think it’s been quite a while since I’ve seen that many smiles and so many little faces filled with such eager anticipation as kids ran eagerly from one exhibit to the next, pulling beleaguered parents along with them. I felt for parents trying to keep up with their children in the huge crowd and even watched as one father was thankfully reunited with his small son who had wandered away. But perhaps the most memorable encounter I watched – and heard – was one little child screaming at the top of her lungs as her mother tried to lead her into the next gallery of exhibits. “I don’t want to see no fish!” she screamed, tears running down her cheeks. Her mother patiently and quietly pleaded, “Oh, come see these beautiful fish.” But as I continued on, I could still hear the little girl screaming, “I don’t want to see no fish!”

I have no idea how that encounter ended, but as I thought about it later, I realized that sometimes I’m probably a lot like that screaming child. For whatever reason, the child had had enough. She may have been tired, hungry, or just feeling cranky, but she was missing an opportunity to see and explore scores of aquatic animals that most people never have the opportunity to see, not to mention the privilege of sharing a special time with her mom. I wonder if that’s how I am sometimes with God. Sometimes I may not like, or be ready, for the things that God allows into my life. Yet instead of praying and seeking His help to understand and make my way through the situation, I cry and plead for something else. He may be trying to give me an unbelievable opportunity, yet I am blinded by what I want or what I can see and understand with my own limited vision. I’m screaming “I don’t want to ___________” instead of yielding to the One who has something unbelievable in store for me.

Contrast this child with two other kids I observed the evening before at the Stone Mountain laser show. Similar to the aquarium, there were kids everywhere – and inevitably many pricey things to entice young children – frozen icies (that’s what I would have liked to have), waffle ice cream cones, glow sticks and headbands, etc. I watched as a family with two little girls spread out a blanket near ours. The mother first presented a bottle of bubble solution and the little girls ran, blew bubbles, laughed and played. Later I observed their dad playing with them on the hillside, letting them run and jump into his arms. Not long before the show began their dad walked down the hill with them and they returned carrying ice cream cones. After enjoying their ice cream, their mom produced inexpensive glow bracelets that she brought from home. They eagerly fastened them around their ankles and ran and admired each other’s neon lights. By the time the laser show began, I saw one of the little girls stretched out on the blanket fast asleep. She didn’t even stir from the boom of fireworks in the nighttime sky.

What contentment I thought! These two little girls trusted their parents to care and provide for them. They were perfectly content with their parents’ provision. I did not hear complaints as to why they couldn’t get the more expensive light toys nor were they constantly demanding other treats. They enjoyed their time together, eagerly accepted what was offered, and rested in contentment and peace. Oh how I want to be that way with my Heavenly Father.

 • I want to trust Him whatever He brings – or doesn’t bring into my life.

 • I want to be content with my Father’s provision and enjoy His presence.

 • I want to be so complete in Him that nothing can rob me of my peace and the sweet fellowship I have with Him.

I pray that instead of screaming “I don’t want to ________” that I’ll look for my Father’s face in the midst of whatever, throw myself into His arms, and rest in His faithfulness and grace.

 “O Lord, You are the portion of my inheritance and my cup; You maintain my lot. The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; yes, I have a good inheritance. I will bless the Lord who has given me counsel; my heart also instructs me in the night seasons. I have set the Lord always before me; because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved. Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices; my flesh also will rest in hope. For You will not leave my soul in Sheol, nor will You allow Your Holy One to see corruption. You will show me the path of life; in Your presence is fullness of joy; at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

(Psalm 16:5-11)

Leave a Reply

Categories

