Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 3, 2011

All Nations Under God

I love my country! In spite of its many problems, I’m thankful for the freedoms and opportunities we have in this nation. I’m thankful for the men and women over the years who have served in our armed forces and who have sacrificed so much to secure and preserve these freedoms. Yet I am also worried about my country. Today, our nation is plagued with troubles both at home and abroad. I realize these troubles are nothing new. TheUnited Stateshas weathered domestic unrest and wars and skirmishes many times since its inception. I am sure that many times in our nation’s history, its citizens have worried over an uncertain future and wondered if their country would survive or if their freedoms would be lost forever. While troubles may not be new to us, however, I do sense a difference in the way we are responding to these problems – and that is what is most troubling to me.

 

I am sure that volumes could be written on what we are doing wrong as a nation from self-serving public servants who are more concerned with their own political agenda than the needs of the nation, to big businesses and corporations who lobby only for their interests and pocketbooks, to people who are only concerned with how things affect them. Yes we have our problems, but more than any of these, I am concerned about a turning away from God inAmerica. Oftentimes it is an outright attack on the things of God.

 

Recently I read an article by a university professor of Biblical studies. This professor discounted clergy claims that the Bible specifically spoke out against same sex marriages. Regardless of how one feels about this issue, this professor stated that the Bible was not meant to speak to contemporary issues. It was readily apparent from his article that this professor had a deep knowledge of the Scriptures, as well as the original Greek and Hebrew texts. He also had an understanding of the culture that existed during Bible times. Yet it was also clear that he was approaching the Bible as merely a collection of documents or ancient texts. Although I may not be well educated in these areas, I know that when I open my Bible and read the Holy Scriptures, I have the opportunity to meet with the God and Creator of the Universe. Through His Word I can learn how He wants me to live and the things He wants me to do. I teach this very truth to the preschoolers that I teach in Sunday School.

 

Do we as a nation – do we as Christians – really believe that the Bible is relevant to our lives today? Sometimes as I look at the things going on in our nation, it appears that we have forgotten all about God. Somewhere along the way we seem to have forgotten that we owe this nation’s very existence to the mercy and grace of God. We essentially removed God from our schools, our work places, our government, and sometimes even our churches. We wanted to be all things to all people, but in the process we forgot the very first commandment God spoke: “You shall have no other gods before Me” (Exodus 20:3). We forgot that Jesus Himself stated: “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you” (Matthew 6:33).  Nothing or no one – not even our nation – should take the place of God.

 

Believers have a responsibility to stand up for Christ in our nation and world. Jesus told His disciples: “Go, therefore, and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age” (Matthew 28:19-20). We should be ready and willing to profess the name of Jesus. Likewise, our lives should show others the love, mercy, and grace of Christ. Others are drawn to, or turned away from Jesus because of what they see in my life and your life. Shaking a Bible in someone’s face and arguing over do’s and don’ts in Scripture does little to help the cause of Christ. However, if we live what the Bible teaches and allow Christ to live through us, others will see the difference in our lives. We may never know how God may use one life totally committed to Him to influence and draw others to Himself. In this manner, He changes hearts and lives, and our world is changed – one heart at a time.

 

Does it sound overly simplistic? In 2 Chronicles 7:14 we read: “If My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.” In our country today, there are many who need Christ. There are also many Christians, myself included, who need to live what we profess to believe. In the Scripture reference above, notice the reference to “My people.” This verse is not talking about non-believers accepting Christ. It is talking about Christians humbling themselves, praying, seeking God, and turning from their sin. It is talking about Christians living like Christians. If we do that, then God promises to hear, forgive, and heal our land.

 

One of the more recent issues in our society has been the effort to remove “one nation under God” from the pledge of allegiance. In a nation seeking God, this would never be an issue. Yet whether or not this statement remains in our pledge, the truth is the United Statesas well as all nations are under God. Whether we profess and acknowledge Him, or blast and deny Him, He is still God, sovereign over all. I pray that our nation will once again turn to God, seek Him, and honor Him as God. If we will, we can serve as a light to other nations to come to realize the truth of Psalm 33:12a: “Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord.” Then maybe they, too, will come to know the God we serve. So instead of talking about all that is wrong with our country, instead of pointing out all the wrongs and sins of the people, I think I’m going to get on my knees and humble myself before my God. I’m going to seek Him with all my heart, confess my own sin, and pray for this nation and all nations. Will you join me?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

