Posted by: glorifyhim1 | June 7, 2011

God’s Gentle Nudges

Many of my blog followers and readers know that I teach kindergartners in Sunday School. Often my blog posts will refer to funny things that have happened or sweet insights that God has revealed to me through their comments or actions. Sometimes, however, instead of laughter, things they say or do can bring tears to my eyes. Such was the case this past weekend.

 

Sunday was graduate recognition day at our church. Graduates from kindergarten, high school, and college were recognized and honored during the service. Each year during this service, kindergarten graduates receive a Bible of their very own as a graduation gift. Before the service, I showed the kindergartners their new Bibles, complete with canvas Bible covers. “I want mine!” one child called out excitedly. “Can we keep them?” another kindergartner asked. One little girl just smiled and clapped her hands together.

 

And then, today, one mother posted a picture on Facebook of her son. He was lying on the floor fast asleep with his new Bible lying open beside of him. She explained that he was so excited over having his very own Bible and that he had carried it around all day trying to read John 3:16. As I looked at that picture of that small child asleep on the floor with his Bible, God gently nudged me and I could feel the sting of tears. It was almost as if I could feel God saying, “This is why I want you to do what you do.”

 

You see, I love kids. I enjoy planning activities and games for Sunday School, making the play dough, and talking and playing with the kids on Sunday morning. But the greatest privilege I have teaching kindergartners is telling them about Jesus. It is introducing them to the Bible through Bible stories and verses and helping them grow in their understanding of God and the church. It is developing relationships with the children that can create good and happy memories at church. It is letting kids see Jesus in me.

 

How humbling! I know I don’t always measure up. The kids don’t always see Jesus in me. I get tired sometimes and may grow weary with all the planning and preparation. At other times I can become discouraged when there are problems or things don’t go well. Yet, also how enabling! When I think of a child clapping her hands in excitement over a new Bible, or another kid who loves his Bible so much that he carries it around all day, I am encouraged to keep on trying. These are God’s little nudges reminding me of the eternal significance behind the simple things He is asking me to do. I may be mixing flour and water and making play dough, but God is using what I’m doing to work in a child’s heart.

 

The same is true for you, too. God may not be asking you to teach a child, but whatever the call, you can be sure that within that call there is something of eternal significance. Stay faithful to the work God has given you to do and stay close to Him. And perhaps, when you least expect it as you’re going through your daily routine, you may receive a glimpse of the eternal. When you do, take a moment to thank and praise God for allowing you to be a fellow worker with Him, then keep on working!

 

“For we are God’s fellow workers, you are God’s field, you are God’s building. According to the grace of God which was give to me, as a wise master builder I have laid the foundation, and another builds on it. But let each one take heed how he builds on it. For no other foundation can anyone lay than that which is laid, which is Jesus Christ.”

(1 Corinthians 3:9-11)

 

Responses

  1. What a sweet blessing to me this morning!


Leave a Reply

Categories

