Posted by: glorifyhim1 | May 30, 2011

Sacrifice

Sacrifice

 

Today on Memorial Day, we pause to remember those men and women who died while serving the nation during war. There are probably very few Americans who are not aware of someone they knew, a family member or friend, who marched off to serve this country and never returned. Yet, over time it is easy to forget the sacrifice that these individuals paid, as well as the sacrifice of their families and loved ones. In December 2000 a resolution entitled the “National Moment of Remembrance” was passed to encourage our nation to pause and honor the sacrifices made by so many. The resolution asks all Americans to pause at 3 p.m. local time and “to voluntarily and informally observe in their own way a moment of remembrance and respect, pausing from whatever they are doing for a moment of silence or listening to “Taps.”

 

Pause with me and remember….

 

 

 

Reflections

 

 

Today my son marched off to war,

He thinks he’s a man, but he’s my little boy,

Too young to carry that gun on his shoulder,

Yet too old to keep him at home any longer,

So off he marched to fight a war.

I hate the empty chair at the table,

I miss the laughter and light-hearted banter,

I wonder where he is tonight.

Is he scared? Is he hungry? Is he alright?

Minutes and hours soon stretch into days,

Days make up weeks that stretch endlessly on.

I pray every night for my dear son,

That God will protect him and keep him safe,

And that soon one day my son will be home.

 

 

 

 

Today, my son, I’m struggling inside,

I want you to stay, but I know you must go.

A few good men is what they say,

They sure got the finest when they got you.

Have I taught you all that you’ll need to know?

Do you know how to fight?

Are you ready for war?

We barely talk as we head to town,

I want to say so much, but don’t know how.

The bus stands waiting for you to board,

One last embrace, you climb aboard,

I bite my lip as a wave goodbye,

And I think as I turn to walk away,

Did I tell you, my son, that real men cry?

 

 

 

 

It’s just not fair!

I don’t want you to go.

We’re supposed to be together – always and forever.

Our first house, our first child,

And now our first goodbye.

I hold you tightly,

Not wanting this embrace to ever end.

I breathe deeply,

Hoping to freeze this moment in my memory forever.

“Blow me a kiss,” I whisper,

“but just don’t say goodbye.”

 I watch you walk away,

Tall and strong,

I squeeze a tiny hand in mine and calmly say,

“Blow a kiss to Daddy,

We’re so proud of him!”

 

 

 

Daddy, I miss you!

At first I missed the things we did together,

Snuggling in your lap when you came home from work,

Playing catch in the front yard,

Sometimes I remember looking for your face in the crowd,

At dance recitals, ball games, church plays,

Then remembering that you weren’t there.

I know life goes on, but it still hurts.

Sometimes I still cry.

I wish you could see me now.

I wish you could walk me down the aisle on my wedding day.

I wish you could hold your first grandchild

And smile from a family photograph.

I wish…I wish…I wish…

I love you, Daddy!

 

 

 

War is not like the movies

It’s not pretty and starched like dress uniforms.

War is hell!

It’s eating out of a tin can in a jungle.

It’s laying beside your buddy in a foxhole,

Watching as he draws his last breath.

It’s killing people you don’t have anything against,

At least personally,

But you have to shoot them before they shoot you

Because that’s war.

War is missing your family.

It’s missing the swimming hole, or the fishing pond,

Or your little sister all dressed-up for her first date.

War is forgetting what day of the week it is – they’re all the same.

War is a picture of a sweetheart clutched in a pocket,

And a dream held onto tightly for tomorrow –

If tomorrow comes!

 

 

Whether our remembrances take us to soldiers lost in the Civil War, World War I or II, the wars inKorea,Vietnam, or Desert Storm, or even more recently in theMiddle East, we know that scores of young men and women have not come home. Their dreams and hopes for tomorrow never came true. Many never knew the joys and simple pleasures that you and I have known because their young lives were snuffed out all too soon. This is what sacrifice looks like!

 

I wish I could say thank you to these young men and women. I will never know the extent of the sacrifices they made in order that you and I can know what it means to be free. But as a nation, we are all deeply indebted to those who gave their all as well as to their families and loved ones who lost so much. May we always remember and never again take for granted the freedoms we enjoy because of their sacrifice.

 

 

One day, there will be no more war.

 

“He shall judge between many peoples, and rebuke strong nations afar off; they shall beat their swords into plowshares, and their spears into pruning hooks; nation shall not lift up sword against nation, neither shall they learn war anymore”

(Micah 4:3).

 

When that day comes, there will be no need to sacrifice our sons and daughters, our husbands and wives, our mothers and fathers. We can eagerly pray and look forward to that day, but until that day comes, let us remember another promise from God’s Word. “If my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways then will I hear from Heaven and will forgive their sins and heal their land” (2 Chronicles 7:14). We need healing in America and in our world today and we can be part of the solution. Notice that this verse says “if my people.” This verse isn’t saying if everyone will – but if God’s people, all believers, will humble themselves, pray and seek God, and turn from their wicked ways, then God promises to hear, forgive, and heal our land. On this Memorial Day, may we all agree that it is time for healing in our nation. And may it begin with you and me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

