Posted by: glorifyhim1 | May 8, 2011

Another Mother’s Day

As another Mother’s Day draws to a close, I feel so incredibly blessed. I am so thankful for my husband and kids who love me and make me feel special not just today – but everyday. I have often said that one of God’s greatest blessings to me is allowing me to be a wife and mother. It is in that sweet calling that I always felt most at home.

Many times over the years it has not been easy. Sometimes, with work and other demands, it has been a real struggle to keep it all together. Yet often it has been during those tough times that the rewards of motherhood has been the sweetest for that is often when we see our kids at their best – putting forth that extra effort, practicing something we taught them, showing sensitivity and compassion, stepping out with new-found independence, getting back up and trying again. It is at times like these that mothers feel that yes it really is worth it. What we do does matter – in the life of our child and in the lives of others he or she may touch.

I cannot think about how much being a mother means to me apart from thinking about my own mother – my dear Mama. Although Mama died 17 years ago, she still has a profound influence on my life. To this day, I consider what Mama would think about situations I encounter. I often think of things that I wish I could tell her or talk over with her. Many of the decisions I make and things I do revolve around things that Mama taught and showed me. 

A mother’s influence is indeed far-reaching. As I thought about my Mama’s influence on my life, I couldn’t help but wonder about my influence on the lives of my children who are now grown. What will they remember about me? What things have I taught them that they will always cling to? How will I influence my kids?

  • Above all, I hope my kids will know and walk with God. “Therefore know that the Lord your God, He is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and mercy for a thousand generations with those who love Him and keep His commandments” (Deuteronomy 7:9). God is faithful. Story after story in the Bible affirms a faithful God in whom we can trust. As we love and trust in Him, He will guide us in the way He would have us go and give us direction in all things.
  • I also hope I can influence my children to keep pressing on – even when they make mistakes. Paul explained it to the Philippians: “..but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 3:13b-14). My kids have seen me mess up. They know I’ve made mistakes, but I hope they’ve seen me take those mistakes to Jesus. There we confess them, put them behind us, and move forward, keeping our eyes on Him. When we have victories, we put them behind us too. We do not rest self-righteously on our past successes, but continue to work for the Lord.
  • And, finally, I hope my kids will be influenced to live thankfully and joyfully. A thankful life acknowledges God as the giver and provider of all. Blessings on earth should encourage us to offer praise and worship to God. The psalmist declares: “It is good to give thanks to the Lord, and to sing praises to Your name, O Most High; to declare Your lovingkindness in the morning, and Your faithfulness every night” (Psalm 92:1-2). And then, enjoy these gifts from God “who gives us richly all things to enjoy” (1 Timothy 6:17b). “I know that nothing is better for them than to rejoice, and to do good in their lives, and also that every man should eat and drink and enjoy the good of all his labor – it is the gift of God” (Ecclesiastes 3:12-13). One powerful way Mama influenced me was through her joy in simple things – picnics, day trips, holidays. She would plan and prepare days ahead, cook special recipes, and get everything ready for a time of joy. I honestly think she got as much joy out of the preparation and expectation as she did the actual event. She took joy in her labor and she enjoyed the fruits of her labor.

 

Recently while my daughter was gathering things for a yard sale, we uncovered an old plastic picnic basket that had not been used for several years. However, when it was added to the yard sale pile, all of my kids immediately began clamoring over the old green picnic basket – “Not the picnic basket!” The picnic basket is worth very little. I don’t even remember where it came from, but to the kids it represented happy memories – trips to Cherokee, picnics, family reunions. I hope that my life can be like that old picnic basket. Years may change the way I look and even my usefulness, but I pray that I will still radiate an inner joy that comes from knowing Christ and walking with Him. By the way, that picnic basket never made it to the yard sale. Who knows? It may not be out of service yet. And may I, too, keep pressing on “toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

Responses

  1. Proverbs 31:28-29 reads, “Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: “Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.”” and I cannot read these words without thinking of you. Thank you for the Godly vision and example you have set for us. Words would never be able to convey what you mean to me or the amount of influence you have upon our lives. I Love You Mom!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

