Posted by: glorifyhim1 | March 7, 2011

“I See God!”

This month in Sunday School my kindergartners are hearing about the world God made. After talking about what the word create means, I asked the boys and girls to close their eyes and tell me what they saw. I expected to hear replies such as “nothing,” or “everything’s black or dark.” Then I intended to explain that this was the way things were before God created the world. However, one little boy promptly replied, “I see God!”

While I do not know exactly what this kindergartner meant, his reply made me think. Genesis 1:2 states: “The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep.” Before God’s creative work outlined in Genesis 1, the world was in a state of darkness, chaos, and ruin. Yet God dispelled the darkness with light and brought order out of chaos. God created the world. He made something out of nothing. And God can do the same thing for you and me.

Sometimes our lives can look a lot like the disorder and confusion of the world before God’s creative work. We may feel lost and without direction or purpose. We may be going through suffering, losses, or other difficulties and not know where to turn. Whatever our situation, we need to remind ourselves that God is the Master of new beginnings. Just as in the very beginning, He spoke and created a world of light and beauty, He can work in our lives to create us anew, giving us direction, meaning, purpose, and hope. But when I am in the midst of chaos and confusion, what do I see? Do I look for God when I am going through dark times, or do I concentrate on the darkness instead? 

The Scriptures tell us that God is near to us during our times of darkness.  “The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit” (Psalm 34:18, NIV). When we are in the depths of despair and hopelessness, He draws near. But in order to see God in the midst of our trouble, we must seek Him. James 4:8 tells us: “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” And again in Psalm 145:18-19: “The Lord is near to all who call upon Him, to all who call upon Him in truth. He will fulfill the desire of those who fear Him; He also will hear their cry and save them.”

I can recall various times in my life when I know that God drew near. He drew near before I ever confessed Him as my Savior and Lord and extended His mercy to me. He helped me to look to Him instead of the darkness surrounding me. He has come near many times since then to comfort, strengthen, encourage, and help me. He has proven to truly be the “Friend who sticks closer than a brother” (Proverbs 18:24b). So, yes, in the darkness I can say that I have seen God. I have felt His presence and known that He was with me. But I have also discovered that while God may meet me at my point of need, He does not intend for me to stay there. Instead, He calls me “out of darkness into His marvelous light” in order to work His creative, redemptive work in me (see 1 Peter 2:9-10).

I am so thankful for a God who is always there for me and who doesn’t turn away from me when I am going through tough times. I am glad that I when my life is filled with darkness that I only need to call upon Him and that He will draw near. And like that sweet kindergartner, may you, too, see the darkness, feel His presence, and say: “I see God!”

Leave a Reply

Categories

