Posted by: glorifyhim1 | February 8, 2011

The God Who Believes in You

Do you know someone who honestly and sincerely believes in you? This is the person who makes you want to do your best just because you know they’re behind you pulling for you. When I was a little girl, I was fortunate to have two such people in my life – my Mama and Daddy. My sister and I knew that our parents believed in us, not because they told us, but because of what they did. They loved us, supported and encouraged us, and sacrificed to make things possible for us. Their love didn’t waver even when I messed up. Although I may have had to sometimes bear the consequences of a poor choice, I knew that they were still there wanting the best for me. I knew that Mama and Daddy believed in me even when sometimes my actions did not show that I believed in myself.

Through the years I’ve known other people who, for a time, believed in me and helped me believe in myself. These individuals have helped me through tough classes or job assignments. Some have encouraged and lifted me up during times of pain or sorrow. Still others have helped me overcome my own weaknesses and find courage to face tasks I didn’t think I could do on my own. Each of these individuals helped me to be more of what I could be simply because they believed in me.

When I was 25 years old, I discovered someone else who believed in me. Actually, I thought it was all about my believing in Him, but as I’ve come to know Him better and walk with Him daily, I’ve learned that His belief in me has made all the difference in my life. How do I know that God believes in me?

  • He loves me. Even before I was born, even when He knew all the sins I would commit and all the poor choices I would make – He still loved me and sent His own Son to die for me so that I could have real, eternal life. “In this the love of God was manifested toward us, that God has sent His only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through Him. In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins” (1 John 4:9-10).

 

  • He chose me. Paul tells us that God “chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love” (Ephesians 1:3-4). John tells us in 1 John 3:1: “Behold what manner of love the Father has bestowed on us, that we should be called children of God!” God chose us to be part of His family.

 

  • He gave me His Spirit. “And because you are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into your hearts, crying out, ‘Abba, Father!’” (Galatians 4:6a). The very moment we receive Jesus as our Savior and Lord, the Spirit comes to permanently dwell within us. The Spirit gives us power (Acts 1:8). He helps us, encourages us, comforts us (John 14:16-18). Through His Spirit, we have everything we need to live our lives each day. The Holy Spirit is God living within us!

 

  • He made me an heir. “The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs – heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ” (Romans 8:16-17a).

 

  • He involved me in His work. After His resurrection, Jesus commanded: “Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you” (Matthew 28:19-20a). All believers have a place to serve, a job to do, in the kingdom’s work. This work gives us purpose and meaning in our lives.

 

I am so thankful that God believes in me. It encourages me to hang in there, to keep my eyes on Him, and to keep on going. Just as I wanted to make my parents proud when I was a kid, I want to please God in all that I do. Hopefully, the more that I surrender to Him and His work in my life, the more others will see Jesus instead of me.

Oh, and God believes in you, too!

The Painting

 

He took a canvas blank and bare

And even slightly soiled,

With skillful strokes and gentle hands

He lovingly toiled.

He brushed broad strokes of color,

Though some were slightly gray,

And sometimes while he worked,

He’d brush a tear away.

At other times, I saw Him smile

As He admired His work of art,

The picture He was painting

Was surely from His heart.

I stepped in a little closer,

This painting I had to see,

Then I stopped in shocked amazement,

He was painting a portrait of me.

 

 

Responses

  1. I love the poem! 🙂

  2. Hello Kathy
    What a blessing you have been to me through your writing. I reallllllllllyyyyyy needed this today. Thank you for listening to what God says to you through your heart.

    Not only your writing but you are a special blessing to me through just the way you live. You are a dear and special friend to me.

    Love you in Christ.

    Judy


Leave a Reply

Categories

