Posted by: glorifyhim1 | January 17, 2011

Just One Tiny Hair

It was just a tiny hair – just a tiny little hair that appeared on my face just above my upper lip. It was so small in fact that I didn’t even know it was there, but my twenty-something daughter saw it and immediately told me about it. Now you’ve got to understand, I’m not into makeup and beauty secrets (as anyone who sees me knows). Yet I’ve never had a problem with facial hair so I was surprised when Karla pointed it out to me. So thus transpired our conversation which went something like this

.

Me (surprised): “Oh, my, I didn’t know it was there! When did you notice it?”

Karla (nonchalantly): “Oh, it’s been there for awhile. I just didn’t say anything.”

Me (incredulously): “Well why didn’t you let me know?”

Karla (matter-of-factly): “I figured you knew it was there.”

Me (defensively): “Well, I didn’t. In fact, I have trouble seeing it now.

Karla (sarcastically): “Well I thought I ought to say something when I saw it was starting to curl!”

Me (alarmed): “It’s curling, and I can’t see it?”

Karla (conciliatorily): “I guess you just have to be in the right light to see it. I can get it for you.”

Me (meekly): “Okay, if you don’t mind.

And then, Karla grabbed that little curly hair and jerked it hard to no avail – except for a few unbidden tears that slid down my cheeks. “I’m sorry,” she immediately apologized. “Let me get my tweezers.” With tweezers in hand, she gently removed that little curly hair and I didn’t even flinch!

While we may laugh at this little story, it occurred to me that sin in our lives can be a lot like my little hair. It may seem too small to hardly notice at first. We may even get comfortable living with our little sin. But left unchecked, our little sin will eventually grow and lead to more sin. Unlike my hair, however, we are usually fully aware of our sin yet we choose to ignore it. Instead of confessing it and dealing with it, we make excuses and find ways to justify it. Yet God’s Word tells us in James 4:7-10: “Therefore submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded. Lament and mourn and weep! Let your laughter be turned to mourning and your joy to gloom. Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and He will lift you up.”

When we submit to God, we acknowledge and turn away from our sin. Instead of laughing over our sin, we recognize the seriousness of sin – all sin. “But each one is tempted when he is drawn away by his own desires and enticed. Then, when desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, brings forth death” (James 1:14-15). The more accustomed we become to excusing, justifying, or ignoring our sin, the less likely we are to acknowledge it, confess it, and turn away from it. Gradually, over time, our sin becomes okay. It can actually become culturally accepted. But the fact remains, no matter how acceptable it may become, it is still sin and “sin, when it is full-grown, brings forth death.”

I know because I’ve been there. I’ve made excuses for my sin, justified my sin, and plain out ignored my sin. But like David I also know how tired and weary I became with unconfessed sin. “When I kept silent, my bones grew old through my groaning all the day long. For day and night Your hand was heavy upon me; my vitality was turned into the drought of summer” (Psalm 32:3-4). But our God is ever faithful when we bring our sin before Him. “I acknowledged my sin to You, and my iniquity I have not hidden. I said, ‘I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,” and You forgave the iniquity of my sin” (Psalm 32:5).

God stands ready to hear, heal, and forgive. And, although we may have to bear the consequences of sin we’ve committed, God is all about taking penitent sinners and redeeming and restoring them. He did it for me (and continues to do it for me) and He can do it for you, too. And I bet you won’t even flinch!

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; you are Mine.

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, nor shall the flame scorch you. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.”

(Isaiah 43:1b-3a)

Responses

  1. A very good article. I loved the analogy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

