Posted by: glorifyhim1 | January 10, 2011

White As Snow

As I write this I’m looking out my window at a world transformed with fluffy, white snow. With four to six inches on the ground, snow still falling, and with predictions for eight to twelve inches, this stands to be a major snowstorm for this area. Yet with all the problems the storm can cause, I still cannot help but revel in its tranquil, yet sometimes fierce beauty. It seems as if I’m in another world as I watch the snow pile up in our yard, covering the walk and driveway, clinging to the magnolia leaves, and hanging heavy on the bare tree trunks. Everything looks different than it did yesterday, and just one step outside into the cold, biting snow confirms that it feels different, too.

Growing up in the south, snow was always a much anticipated event. Even as a child I can remember praying for snow and hoping that school would be cancelled so we could play in it. Then as a mother, I remember the same excitement in my own kids and our snow tradition – bundling up and playing in the snow until even gloved hands were wet and cold, then coming inside and sipping hot chocolate and reading books as we warmed ourselves by the wood stove. Even now, a snowy day is not complete without at least a short walk around the yard and good hot cup of coffee or hot chocolate.

What is it about the snow? Even as an adult when I realize that snowstorms can also create havoc (i.e, icy roads, canceled flights, and downed power lines), I still get excited when I see snow in the forecast. Why?

Perhaps it is because, at least where I live, snow is a break from the ordinary. Life becomes a little different, not the same as the day before. It can be almost like a vacation from business as usual.

It may be that the snow gives us a different view. The drab, brown look of winter is transformed with the fluffy white snow. Even the icicles that hang from the eaves give the world outside our windows a different perspective.

Perhaps it is because the snow reminds us of special memories. Since the snow is not so common in our area, we remember things associated with the various snowfalls, from fishtailing on an interstate, to digging the dog out of his dog house, to doing a different kind of snow angel in the snow. In my family, there are stories behind each of these memories and many others. The same is true with most families.

As I thought about all of this, I began to realize that in many ways, the snow mimics the reality of my life in Christ. First of all, Christ comes into my life and completely transforms my world. Paul reminds us in 2 Corinthians 5:17: “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.” Just as the snow covers the dark, drab colors of winter, Christ covers my sin and makes me clean and just like new.

Likewise, Christ changes the way I look at things. Colossians 3:12-15 describes the character of the new life in Christ. “Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do. But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection. And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful.” Christ helps us see others through His eyes instead of through our self-limited view or worldly ambition. He works in us to change our point of view and the way we look at others and the world.

Jesus also encouraged believers to remember. As He shared His last supper with His disciples, Luke 22:19 tells us: “And He took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, ‘This is My body which is given for you; do this in remembrance of Me.’” We pause to remember what Jesus did for us. The bread represents the body of Jesus that He offered for us. But not only does this meal encourage us to remember what Jesus did for us, but it also encourages us to remember that one day Jesus will return and all of God’s promises will be fulfilled. Remembering brings both thanksgiving and anticipation and hope.

Eventually, I realize that our snow will melt and the beauty I see today will become but a memory. But God’s word assures us that Christ will complete His work in us. “He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ” (Philippians 1:6b). And Christ is ready to begin this work in every life that will come to Him. “’Come now, and let us reason together’, says the Lord, ‘though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall be as wool.’” (Isaiah 1:18) Let us come to Christ and become white as snow.

Responses

  1. Might I add that I didn’t like hot chocolate as a child so I would drink a coke by the fire 🙂 I’ve always been a little ‘different’!

    Love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

