Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 1, 2010

The Beginning of Christmas

Each year as I turn the calendar to December, my thoughts turn to Christmas. I think of that first Christmas so long ago when Baby Jesus was born. I think about Mary and Joseph, the shepherds in the field, and the angels announcing the glorious news of Jesus’ birth. This is what Christmas is all about – the birth of Jesus, our Savior.

Yet although Christmas is a celebration of Jesus’ birth, Christmas actually began long before that starry night in Bethlehem. It began in eternity, in the very heart of God. In Ephesians 1, Paul explained that before the foundation of the world, God planned for our redemption through Jesus. Before God created the universe, before God breathed life into man, before sin tarnished the perfect work of God, you and I were on His mind. He loved us even then. “In this the love of God was manifested toward us, that God has sent His only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through Him. In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins” (1 John 4:9-10). Because of God’s very nature of love, before we were even born, He determined a way to save us and to restore us to Himself . Love was God’s motivation to send Jesus on that very first Christmas.

To be honest, I cannot fully wrap my mind around that kind of love. But while I cannot understand it, I can experience it. I can be aware of His love as I see it revealed in the universe He created. I can feel God’s love through His Spirit who is always present with me. I can see God’s love revealed through the pages of Scripture as He works to carry out His purposes in the world. And perhaps best of all, I can see God’s love revealed through Jesus who came “to seek and to save that which was lost” (Luke 19:10).

Christmas is a beautiful expression of God’s love for all people. It is a time for celebrating that love as we rejoice in the birth of Jesus and God’s plan to redeem and restore us through Him. Christmas is a time to reflect on the Father’s love and His desire that not “any should perish but that all should come to repentance” (1 Peter 3:9b). Christmas began in the heart of the Father. His love was revealed through the birth of His Son, Jesus, in Bethlehem. And all these years later, we have the privilege of celebrating  that love, that birth, and the wonder of such an awesome God! Thank You, God, for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Categories

