Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 31, 2010

Sin Sick?

Sin Sick?

 

I with I could have been in Sunday School this morning surrounded by my kindergartners. This Sunday our Bible story was about how Paul told Lydia about Jesus (Acts 16:11-15). We had activities planned where we could talk about Jesus and ways boys and girls could tell others about Him. I had prayed and planned and was ready to go, but then it happened. About mid-week I was attacked by a nasty sore throat and cold. I kept hoping that it would be gone by the weekend, but instead it worsened and I lost my voice completely. Yesterday, I finally gave in and let the other teachers know that I wouldn’t be there today.

To be honest, I actually thought about going anyway. I mean I don’t feel particularly bad – I just have a tickly throat, sneeze occasionally, and can’t talk. Other than that, I’m fine. I can still go about my regular routines here at home. But deep down I knew that it was not the right thing to do. Going to Sunday School would only hurt those kids and teachers that I love. Just as I worry about infecting other family members, I know that it is next to impossible to prevent the spread of cold germs in a close environment. So, I stayed home, thankful for the beautiful sun this morning that fed my otherwise downcast spirit. 

As I thought about all of this, it occurred to me how sin is just like my cold germs. My sin affects everyone around me just like my cold germs do. Just as I thought about going to church in spite of my cold, sometimes we fool ourselves into thinking that our sin just hurts us. I am sure that when Eve chose to listen to the serpent in the Garden of Eden rather than obey what God told her, she had no idea of the far-reaching consequences of her actions (Genesis 3). Because of her sin, she led Adam to sin as well. I am sure that neither of them had any idea that their actions would affect not only them, but all of mankind.

How does our sin affect others?

  • Our sin hurts others. Probably the most recognizable consequence of sin is the hurt inflicted on others – an abused child, a broken family, a drug-addicted teen, etc. Such outcomes were probably not intended, but they are the by-products of sin.

 

  • Our sin breaks fellowship. As Paul asked in 2 Corinthians 6:14b: “For what fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? And what communion has light with darkness?” The Holy Spirit dwells within the lives of Christians. When we sin we break fellowship with God and with other believers.

 

  • Our sin can discourage fellow believers from growing in Christ and non-believers from coming to Christ. Paul instructed the Corinthians: “Come out from among them and be separate, says the Lord” (2 Corinthians 6:17a) There should be something different about the believer’s life – the places he goes, the things he says, the way he acts, etc. Believers who continue in sin and compromise their spiritual beliefs and values hurt others, Christians and non-Christians alike. For instance, less mature Christians may think it is okay to do certain things if they see a fellow believer involved in the activity. A non-believer may feel being a Christian is unnecessary when he sees no difference between his life and that of a professing Christian.

 

  • Our sin can undermine the church. Paul warned the Corinthian believers that tolerating sin in the church was dangerous. “Do you not know that a little leaven leavens the whole lump? Therefore purge out the old leaven, that you may be a new lump, since you truly are unleavened” (1 Corinthians 5:6-7). Paul recognized that ignoring sin could cause it to continue to spread throughout the church just as leaven in a loaf of bread. Sin that is accepted and not dealt with can contaminate an entire group of believers.

 

Just as I don’t want to infect others with my cold germs, neither do I want to affect them with my sin. Unlike my cold which will hopefully take care of itself in a few days, my sin is more like a cancer that will continue to wreak havoc in my life and the lives of others until I confess it and seek the Lord’s forgiveness. Yet the Bible assures us that there is an answer to the cancer of sin in our lives. 1 John 1:9 states: “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” Thank You, God!

Leave a Reply

Categories

