Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 25, 2010

Why Prayer?

This morning I just felt kind of sad, but I wasn’t sure why. It had been a beautiful fall weekend with clear blue skies and gorgeous fall colors. I had enjoyed time with my family, and had been blessed at church – particularly with my preschoolers. We talked about ways our church helps others and talked about ways that even they can help at church. We made play dough, sprinkling the mixture liberally with pumpkin pie spice, and talked about ways they can use their hands to help. I may have left Sunday School with flour on my pants and smelling slightly like pumpkin pie, but I was blessed!

So why this sadness? Maybe it’s just the weather I thought as the rain pelted against the window and hundreds of leaves lost their battle with the wind and rain and fluttered to the ground. But deep down I knew. My sadness wasn’t because of the weather or anything specifically wrong in my corner of the world. It was because of the helplessness I felt in regard to the real hurts and sufferings of others — a 9 vehicle pileup on I-26 that claimed the lives of four people and left others seriously injured, a family reeling over the loss of a dear son and brother, a mother mourning the loss of an infant, countless Haitians suffering from the epidemic of cholera, on and on. From my little community to places all around the globe, people hurt and suffer.

Just like everyone else, I, too, have experienced times of suffering and pain. I’ve appreciated sweet cards, telephone calls, warm hugs, and lovingly prepared meals. But there is one thing that I covet above every other expression of concern when I’m struggling with pain or sorrow – and that’s for someone to pray for me. When I’m going through a valley, I need prayer more than anything else. It is also the time when I may have the most difficulty praying myself. Sometimes illness can actually make it impossible to pray. It is at times like these that we need our brothers and sisters in Christ to earnestly pray on our behalf.

Why prayer?

  • Prayer makes a difference. James 4:2b warns: “Yet you do not have because you do not ask.” We should come to our Heavenly Father just as a child comes to a parent and ask Him for what we need and petition Him for the needs of others.

 

  • Prayer is a matter of obedience. Although God knows what I need, we are still told to bring our requests to Him. Jesus spoke to His disciples “that men always ought to pray and not lose heart” (Luke 18:1). It is easy to lose heart when we are overcome with suffering or sorrow. But we have a God who cares and is concerned with every detail of our lives.

 

  • Prayer invokes the Holy Spirit to intercede on our behalf. “Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.” (Romans 8:26-27)

 

It is a privilege to bring the needs of others before the throne of God. Sometimes His response may not be what we humanly want or expect, but we must bring our requests and surrender them to Him, praying for His perfect will to be realized. Through prayer, we not only tap into God’s power and ways He can miraculously work, but we also enter into communion with God and He changes us as well. He motivates us to lend a helping hand, cook that meal, make a special offering, or reach out to someone in whatever way we can. In short, prayer helps the “pray-er” as much as the person for whom he prays. Prayer makes a difference on many levels and leaves us not feeling quite as helpless. I am so thankful for the privilege of prayer and for a God who eagerly invites us into His presence.

Responses

  1. Oh how this came at just the right time. God’s timing is always perfect. I had been feeling so down about the house not being sold and after I read this I felt like it was written just for me. Thank you for these. I alway look forward to reading them. Love you my dear friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

