Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 18, 2010

The Believer’s GPS

This past weekend I accompanied my younger daughter on a weekend road trip to visit a couple of college campuses where she is interested in possibly enrolling. Having completed work for an applied science degree and working for several years, she decided to change directions and pursue another interest. She has almost completed the requirements for her associate degree and hopes to transfer soon to one of the above colleges to complete her degree. She asked if I would like to go along for the ride and since I’m usually ready for a road trip, I was glad to oblige.

So off we headed Friday morning with two hastily packed bags and dreams of higher education in my daughter’s head and cheesecake in mine (she promised to take me to the Cheesecake Factory). But what I became increasingly interested in was this little black contraption that she stuck to the windshield – her GPS device.

Now I realize that GPS is not anything new to most people out there, but it is not something that I am very familiar with. My husband and I travel with road maps and printouts from Mapquest, so I was amazed at how with a just a few touches on the screen she managed to find alternate routes, receive detailed directions from a nice-sounding British voice, and locate specific establishments and businesses – including the Cheesecake Factory.

“If only life could be that easy,” I found myself thinking. What if we could just tap a screen and discover the best route we should take in life? What if our steps to get there could be so easily discerned? But then I found myself getting confused by some of the directions this nice British guy offered. Since the device sought to prepare the driver for what was ahead, it would give directions such as “turn left after 1200 yards.” We might pass a couple of roads before the turn we were supposed to take appeared. I found myself wondering when we should turn or fearing we had missed one. But my daughter methodically found each correct turn. “How do you do that?” I asked. “How do you know which turn is the correct turn?”

She looked at me as though I had dropped in from Mars, tapped the GPS screen, and explained, “I just look at the screen.” I looked at the screen and sure enough there you could see our car on the road and easily see when it was time for us to turn.

“Wow!” I thought. It really would be neat to have one of these for all our life questions. But then it occurred to me. Actually, we have something far better. The GPS device is an impersonal box that attempts to find routes and give directions, but it is limited by the information the user programs into it. Because of Jesus, Christians have a personal relationship with the God of the Universe who sees all, knows all, and understands all. All believers are assured that this all-knowing God will direct their steps. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths” (Proverbs 3:5-6). This Supreme God wants us to come to Him with our questions, our hurts, our needs. He wants to have a relationship with each of His children. He promises that He will hear us and help us. “The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears, and delivers them out of all their troubles” (Psalm 34:17). Furthermore, God has given us the Bible to teach us His ways and help us as we live our lives. “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path” (Psalm 119:105). We have a God we can call on, a book we can turn to, and an example (Jesus) that we can follow.  

But I did discover one similarity between the GPS and the way God leads us. My daughter could just flip on the unit and it would immediately find where she was located. If we stopped somewhere outside the initial route or made any changes to our direction, it would pick up the change and re-route us accordingly. Isn’t that just like God? No matter where we are or how confused we may be, God knows exactly where we are. He knows everything about us (1 John 3:20). He knows what we’ve done. He knows the thoughts and intents of our hearts. And in spite of what He knows about us, He stands poised and ready to extend His mercy and grace to help us get turned around and back on track.

God has given us everything we need to help us find our way in this world. Yet I know the best part of any trip is finally reaching the sought after destination. And I also know how precious that destination is if you are greeted by close family, friends, or loved ones. How sweet to know that when our life’s journey here on earth is ended that Christ Himself will be waiting for us. “And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also” (John 14:3). And to know that, my friends, is sweeter even than cheesecake!

Responses

  1. Love you mom!


Leave a Reply

Categories

