Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 5, 2010

Which Way Are You Going?

This morning in Sunday School one of my kindergartners was playing with the blocks and cars. First he built an elaborate road with the blocks and positioned various cars and other vehicles along the block road. Next he placed boats on the blue carpet around the block road and explained that the carpet was a large lake. “Play with me,” he then directed. “You can drive a car.” Obediently, I chose a fancy looking red car and began to push it over the block road. “You’re going the wrong way,” he corrected me. Since the road had no “lanes,” I was a little confused. “Well, how do I know which way to go?” I asked. He reached over, picked up my car, and turned it around to show two small circles painted on the front of the car for head lights. “This end goes first,” he patiently explained. I had a good laugh as I realized I had confused the back of the car for the front. My young friend wasn’t concerned with which direction on the road I was going, but which direction my car was facing.

As I thought about this later, I realized how much our lives can be like that little red car on the block road. We can get pushed and pulled in all different directions, but the thing that really matters is which direction we are facing. Are we looking to God and keeping our eyes on Him, or are we relying on someone else, or our own resources for guidance and direction? The writer of Hebrews reminds us to look “unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith” (see Hebrews 12:2). Jesus not only saves us from our sins, but He also shows us how to live. Hebrews 12:2 continues: “who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has set down at the right hand of the throne of God.” Jesus endured the suffering on the cross in order to secure our victory. He faced the cross with determination knowing that the ultimate victory was His. He set His eyes not on the suffering or the pain, but on the joy that would be revealed.

I think sometimes in the midst of our struggles and trials, we forget the guaranteed joy that awaits us. Our victory has already been won by Christ. We have something far greater than we can imagine waiting for us. The apostle Paul reminds us in 1 Corinthians 2:9: “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard; nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” When we keep our eyes on Christ and follow Him, we can be assured that our sufferings in this world cannot compare with the inheritance we will one day receive because of Christ. As Paul told the Romans: “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us” (Romans 8:18).

Once I got my little red car facing the right direction, I pushed it all over the little block road. Occasionally, at my friend’s request, I pushed it straight into the water so he could rescue me. Once or twice I still somehow managed to get my car turned around and pushed it in the wrong direction, but a gentle reminder from my friend helped me to face the right way again. Come to think of it – that’s just what Christ does for us. We just have to keep our eyes on Him.

Leave a Reply

Categories

