Posted by: glorifyhim1 | May 16, 2010

When You Milk a Cow

I had a truly delightful time in Sunday School this morning. I helped out with a group of younger four-year-olds this morning instead of my usual kindergartners. It had been quite a while since I had worked with younger preschoolers and to be sure, there was not an idle moment. We played, we talked, and we covered all kinds of subjects in just a matter of minutes. One of my favorites centered around a cow – that’s right, a cow. You see, our Bible story was about David helping care for his father’s sheep. Through activities and during group time, kids were encouraged to think about ways they helped at home. Yet there was a book on the bookshelf with a picture of Jesus riding on a donkey. So we started talking about donkeys and how you have to be careful or they’ll kick you. And, then, how you have to be careful around any animal – especially a cow if you are milking her. “OK,” I halted the chatter. “Who in here has milked a cow?” One little boy eagerly waved his hand in the air, “I have, I have, and when I pulled the trigger, she kicked hard!” I can’t say I didn’t smile, but I did manage to calmly comment on how you need to be gentle when you’re milking a cow (like I knew all about it!) and then continued to read the book.

As I thought about this rambunctious group of preschoolers later, I realized that these kids had taught me something this morning. First of all, they were totally involved. From the time they entered the room, they had a plan. They looked for their favorite things to do and tackled them with all their might. Secondly, they were fun to be around. Although we had to occasionally remind kids to play or talk or more quietly, to share, or take turns, they were fun. It was fun to play with them, talk to them, and listen to their ideas. Thirdly, they were glad to be at church. Although listening to the Bible story may have been second to snack time, it was still evident that they enjoyed being in Sunday School.

Unfortunately, I cannot always say the same things about myself.

  • Am I totally involved?

 

As much as I may study and prepare, sometimes when I come to church I am not totally involved. Instead I have all these other things going on in my mind that keep me from giving 100% to my time with preschoolers. While these other things may be important or real problems that I am dealing with, they need to be relinquished to my Father in heaven before I enter that Sunday School room. We cannot become totally involved and ready to give our all if our minds are divided over a multitude of issues. The psalmist David reminds us in Psalm 55:22: “Cast your burden on the Lord, and He shall sustain you.” God wants us to bring everything on our hearts and minds to Him because He genuinely loves and cares for us (see 1 Peter 5:7). Furthermore, once we bring everything to our Father and present ourselves to Him, He will work in us to transform and renew our minds (see Romans 12:1-2). Then, and only then, are we truly ready to become totally involved in the work He has called us to do.

  • Am I fun?

 

Here again, when I have the world on my shoulders, it’s hard to be fun. Yet just as those kids depend on their parents and families to handle the tough stuff, I can depend on my Heavenly Father to take care of those things that weigh me down. God does not want us to be anxious about anything. Jesus, Himself, cautioned: “And do not seek what you should eat or what you should drink, nor have an anxious mind” (Luke 12:29). When we seek God first and turn everything over to Him we will not be anxious, but have peace. “You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You” (Isaiah 26:3). When I am looking to my Father and trusting in Him, I am at peace. Then I can be fun, too.

  • Am I glad to be in Sunday School?

 

In all honesty, I usually do look forward to Sunday School. I love spending time with my kindergartners and with the other teachers I work with. Yet I wonder if sometimes I tend to forget why I do what I do. What I do every Sunday morning is about a lot more than playdough or blocks, painting or drawing, or even about spending time with some pretty special kids. Pure and simple, I want to help boys and girls learn about Jesus. Teachers of preschoolers are trying to lay a foundation that others can build on so that one day these kids may know Jesus as their personal Lord and Savior. In Colossians 3:1-2, Paul reminds us: “If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.” When I keep my focus on things above and why I’m doing what I do, I cannot help but be glad in Sunday School!

I am so glad for the opportunity I had to spend some time this morning with some precious preschoolers. They reminded me that life is a treasure to be enjoyed. Each day is a precious gift and when I surrender everything I am to my Father in Heaven, I can be ready to give each day my all. And instead of being burdened down, grumbling or complaining, I can be joyful, eager for whatever God has in store for me. Who knows? It may be my day to milk a cow!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

