Posted by: glorifyhim1 | April 4, 2010

Easter Memories

 

Like most holidays, Easter reminds me of many wonderful memories both of when I was a child and later when my own children were small. When I was a little girl, Mama always saw to it that my sister and I had a new dress for Easter. And although Mama made a lot of our clothes, our Easter dresses were always store bought. Our Easter outfits usually included the big, ruffled can-can slips, new white dress shoes with pretty ruffled socks, and oftentimes a pocketbook or hat. I can still remember how special I felt, all decked out in my brand new outfit, as I walked down the road to our neighborhood church on Easter Sunday morning.

I also remember one Easter Sunday when I didn’t feel so special. I have a picture of that Easter Sunday which captures my sad countenance as I stare woefully at the ground.  I don’t remember how old I was, but I wasn’t old enough to realize that although I couldn’t see my pretty new shoes beneath the wide circle of my can-can slip, that other people could. Since I couldn’t see my shoes, I didn’t think that anyone else could see them either. I loved my pretty new shoes and wanted everyone to see them. As a result I hated my dress because I couldn’t see my shoes!   

Every time I look at these childhood Easter pictures, I cannot help but smile. What was it about a fancy new dress or shiny white shoes that made a little girl feel so special? Personally, I don’t think it had a lot to do with the new dress or shoes. But I think it had everything to do with the people behind that new dress and shoes. Mama and Daddy loved their little girls and although they couldn’t afford to give us fine new clothes all the time, they made a point to get us a new outfit every Easter. That sacrifice spoke volumes to my sister and me. We knew our family was not rich, and without a doubt, there were other things more needed by our parents than frilly dresses for two little girls – yet the two frilly dresses were important to two little girls. And two little girls were important to them. Although I couldn’t have explained it then, this simple gesture every Easter, along with many other sacrifices through the years, communicated to my sister and I that we were important, that our parents loved and cared for us.

Easter reminds us of another sacrifice, one beyond our human comprehension. Although His disciples were slow to understand, Jesus had explained to them what was going to happen. “Behold, we are going up to Jerusalem, and the Son of Man will be betrayed to the chief priests and to the scribes; and they will condemn Him to death and deliver Him to the Gentiles; and they will mock Him, and scourge Him, and spit on Him, and kill Him. And the third day He will rise again” (Mark 10:33-34). Jesus knew what was waiting for Him in Jerusalem, yet He went anyway. In Luke 9:51, we are told that “when the time had come for Him to be received up, that He steadfastly set His face to go to Jerusalem.” Why? Simply put, because He loves us. “By this we know love, because He laid down His life for us” (1 John 3:16).

Jesus willingly died on the cross in order that you and I might be saved and receive eternal life. But not only does Jesus want to give us eternal life, He also wants to improve our lives here and now. In John 10:10, Jesus explained, “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” Jesus doesn’t want us to live in defeat and discouragement, but in joy and hope. Just as a shepherd cares for his sheep, Jesus cares for us. He states, “I am the good shepherd; and I know My sheep, and am known by My own” (John 10:14). Even more than my parents knew their two little girls and what was important to them, Jesus knows His children and what is important to them and He wants to bless each of His children with abundant life.

When I think of all that Jesus has done for me, I am overcome with a love that I honestly cannot fathom. And then when I think of the many ways He continues to bless and enrich my life daily, I feel so loved and special. Even on those days when things may look dark and gloomy and I may feel like I did as a child when I thought others couldn’t see my pretty new shoes, I can know that Jesus loves, cares, and understands. It is like Jesus saying, “Look, child, see how much I love you!”  It is like Easter everyday!

Responses

  1. I love the shoe story! 🙂 And thank you for all you and Daddy sacrificed through the years and all you continue to do. Mutt, Jeff, & Jehoshaphat are very grateful and feel very loved. Love you!

    • Thanks, Stacy. You know it’s funny but I never thought about anything we did for you all being a sacrifice. We just did it because we loved you. I’m sure Mimi and PaPa felt the same way. It really makes me stop and think about the kind of sacrifice that Jesus made for us. That is some amazing love that would choose to go through what He had to so that we might live! And He did it willingly just because He loved us!


Leave a Reply

Categories

