Posted by: glorifyhim1 | March 8, 2010

What Makes Us Tick

I was amused as I recently watched a news story regarding “bleacher creatures.” These are not the New York Yankee bleacher creatures, or any other die hard sports fans that stake out their claim to seats at season games. Instead, these bleacher creatures are adoring movie star fans that claim their spots in the limited bleacher seats to view the red carpet entry of famous celebrities as they arrive for the Oscars. I admit that my first reaction was, “You’ve got to be kidding! Why in the world would someone sit for hours to try to catch the glimpse of some famous celebrity?”

But then I thought about some of the things I have done. I remember sitting on bleachers at a football field in the pouring rain waiting to see if the band was going to march at halftime. I recall spending money, which had more important places it needed to go, to take a longed for family road trip to Yellowstone and the Grand Canyon. And then this weekend I’m happily traveling two hours one way to pick up my grandddog so I can “dog sit” for two weeks! In other words, whether its movie stars, professional athletes, families, pets, or one of myriad hobbies or interests, we all have something, or a variety of things, that makes us tick.

What makes you tick? What is the thing that you most look forward to doing, or place that you most enjoy going? If time and money were not factors to be considered, what would you most like to do?

Did you know that the Bible has something to say about the things that make us tick? Generally, the things that make us tick are the driving forces behind decisions we make. They are often things that make us happy or joyful, and they also usually reveal what is on our hearts and minds. Proverbs 27:19 states, “As in water face reflects face, so a man’s heart reveals the man.” We will ultimately seek and do what is in our hearts. For example, I didn’t particularly enjoy sitting on that bleacher in the rain, but I did it because my kids were there. And as much as I love this beautiful world that God made and am a strong champion and advocate of our national parks, the driving force behind this trip was our family and the opportunity to spend time together. Family is a big part of what makes me tick.  

Yet we are also cautioned in Jeremiah 17:9, “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked; who can know it?” Sometimes we can get caught up in what we want to do and our decisions can become selfish or prideful. David cried out to God to “examine me, O Lord, and prove me; try my mind and my heart” (Psalm 26:2). And again, he prayed, “Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me, and know my anxieties; and see if there is any wicked way in me” (Psalm 139:23-24a).

Who can better know what makes us tick than the One who made us? “Know that the Lord, He is God; it is He who has made us, and not we ourselves; we are His people and the sheep of His pasture” (Psalm 100:3). He truly loves us and longs to give us the desires of our hearts (see Psalm 37:4). As any loving father, God wants His children to be happy. Ecclesiastes 3:12-13 states, “I know that nothing is better for them than to rejoice, and to do good in their lives, and also that every man should eat and drink and enjoy the good of all his labor – it is the gift of God.” The Bible also offers guidelines for things that can make us happy.

  • Happy is he who trusts in God to preserve and prosper him. (Psalm 144)

 

  • Happy is he whose God is the Lord. (Psalm 144:15)

 

  • Happy is he who finds wisdom and gains understanding. (Proverbs 3:13)

 

  • Happy is he who has mercy on the poor. (Proverbs 14:21)

 

  • Happy is he who trusts in the Lord. (Proverbs 16:20)

 

  • Happy is he who keeps the law. (Proverbs 29:18)

 

  • Happy is he who is confident in what he believes. (Romans 14:22).

 

Yet God also knows that just seeking what makes one happy will not lead to true, lasting happiness. Just as a clock has an inner mechanism that keeps the clock ticking correctly, it is Christ in us that keeps us on track. Romans 12:2 explains it this way: “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” This is spiritual transformation that allows the Christ who saves us to truly change us from the inside out so that our lives and the things that make us tick better reflect Christ to others.

Responses

  1. Thanks for sitting on the bleachers for us mom 🙂

    • You’re welcome – happy memories – I’d do it all again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

